Reviews For Rise of a Princess
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SuperSith Signed [Report This]
Date: December 23 2020 1:57 AM Title: Chapter 1: Visitor

What an incredible story! One of the best gentle giantess stories I've read. If only there was more content like this to enjoy: stuff that isn't sexual, is still appealing to the size lovers, but also has some rich storytelling. Caroline is an incredible protagonist and all the supporting characters really feel important to the story, even when some don't do much. Would love a sequel where the kingdom is repaired and maybe the siblings are older. Unless one sequel exists that I'm unaware of.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review on an older story. There was originally intended to be a sequel that takes place several years later but it just didn't materialize.

Reviewer: Loralye Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 20 2020 7:35 AM Title: Chapter 31: End

Bravo, simply magnificent! That is a damn good story. All the elements aligned perfectly. It's hard to find a great gentle giantess that doesn't turn sexual.'this was heart warming and I enjoyed every chapter! Well done



Author's Response:

Much appreciated

Reviewer: gtstory Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 08 2015 2:39 PM Title: Chapter 1: Visitor

Thank you so much for your reply. In it, you mentioned the possibility of perhaps continuing with these characters in future stories. First of all, let me say that I really appreciated you giving "Rise" a real ending. One of my pet peeves is when an author keeps continuing a story just to continue (with no thought to the story's arc or an ending). Thankfully, "Rise" is a wonderfully full, complete story. I enjoyed it immensely, and would not mind at all reading another story with these great characters!

That said, my question is: if you ever were to continue, how would the rest of us be able to find it?

Since Giantess World is mostly for giantess stories, would you still post it here even if it didn't have any giantess content (since it would at least be a continuation of a story that did)? Or do you have another site where you post your non-giantess writings? (If so, where is it?)

I guess what I'm saying is, if you were to contine with these characters, either please continue to post it here (even without giantess content), or at least put a little notice up somewhere (perhaps in the description area for "Rise", or edit in a note at the end of the final chapter... something like that) so that if you ever start a new story with these characters, people here on Giantess World in the future will be able to know where to find and enjoy it.

Once again, I know it's been a few years, but thank you so much for "Rise". And if you ever do decide to write a new story with these characters, please either continue to post it here, or at least let us know where we could find it! :)

Author's Response:

Sure. There actually will be giantess content in the (eventual) sequel, so it'll be posted here too. I'd had the idea for a potential sequel since the end of this one but hadn't really started thinking seriously about it until this year, so that's why it's taken so long. I can't guess exactly when it would actually appear, but I am putting thought into it.

Reviewer: gtstory Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 20 2015 2:43 AM Title: Chapter 1: Visitor

Wow. What a fantastic story! I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed it. I know that gentle giantess stories don't get as many page views as others, but when they're done right, they are such a treat... and seeing as how you're still actively writing, I sincerely hope you will start another gentle giantess story again at some point. It's fine to get your easy fix of gore, vore and stomp now and then, but for me, it's really a long, beautifully-written gentle giantess story like this that makes it all worth while.

I was going to start this review with a joke: "Jacksmith, great story. So, how about a similar-length sequel, done by next Tuesday?" :)  but honestly, it was just such a wonderful story that I had to put that up front instead.

I guess I just happen to like gentle giantess stories, especially those set in olden times. I discovered, and much enjoyed, the stories of Malaka (Chronicles of Vandan and Children of Vandan), and Pixis' Rowena -- as well as those in other settings, such as SpookyTaco's Fyth Farmhand. I thought I had already found all the few, great, gentle giantess stories here on this site... but upon taking the time to go through the description of every story here just in case (as "search" doesn't help all that much), I found Rise of a Princess. And boy, was it worth the time to find (let alone the time it must have taken you to write).

I'm just curious: had you written the story completely before posting it, or did you actually write it one chapter at a time? If so, you must have had it pretty well planned out from the start, for events and mentions that happen early on certainly were important later in the story.

It was so nice to see the heroine be someone who truly cares for those around her, with the courage, smarts, and determination to make the world a better place.

Regarding the end, I wondered one thing: (spoiler, people -- skip this paragraph if you don't want to know!) With Christine and Catherine being about 900 years old, one would assume that Caroline (being half witch) is at least somewhat immortal or long-lived as well. Is her lifespan a choice she can make, or is she fated to have to live a much longer life? Can she choose to live the lifespan of a human and grow old with Luke, Phillip and Anne? Or must she live for hundreds of years and watch as those she loves pass? The old saying (as a rebutt to immortality) that only those with a short, mortal life can perhaps appreciate how special every day is. My sense is, she would chose to live out her days and grow old with the ones she loves, but I'd be curious about your thoughts on this.

There's not much else to say, except thank you for taking the time to create such a wondrful, touching story. It's going to remain a favorite of mine for a long time to come. And if you really do enjoy gentle giantess stories as much as the other types, I implore you to please lend your talents to another gentle giantess tale once more.

Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thanks very much for your commentary. It's always nice to see new reviews on this one after so long. I actually did write it one chapter at a time and just had a clear idea of where I was going from the beginning. Your question about Caroline's lifespan is actually something that will be answered in later stories, as this is part of a larger series, so I'll avoid going into detail for now. But you are right to question that issue. I do intend to write another gentle fantasy story sometime.

Reviewer: dengen Anonymous starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: July 24 2014 5:50 PM Title: Chapter 1: Visitor

<a href=http://www.google.com>blog</a> [url=http://www.google.com]blog[/url] <a href="http://www.google.com">blog</a> blog http://www.google.com

blog

Reviewer: NFalc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: March 23 2014 10:54 PM Title: Chapter 1: Visitor

An excellent read.  Great characterization, wonderful descriptions.  I know gentle isn't your usual thing, but this was exceedingly pleasant, and I hope you'll consider working in the genre in the future.



Author's Response:

Thanks very much! The truth is I enjoy gentle as much as violent, but the latter is normally what gets more reads and reviews, so I stick with it most of the time. I plan to write a new gentle story someday though.

Reviewer: Ancient Relic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: December 08 2013 5:20 PM Title: Chapter 1: Visitor

I love a good gentle story, and Caroline is the Platonic form of gentle. It works well because she always finds a way to solve a problem without killing people, and it improves a situation (like when she appointed a better leader of the nomads).

The family had excellent chemistry. The text radiated their love for one another.

The end was great. I have a thing for women with tremendous magical power and women with tremendous height, so a 70ft sorceress queen with a heart of gold was delightful. One the one hand, it would have been quite satisfying to see her stay a 70ft magic queen. On the other hand, reducing herself until she could hug Luke and her family was exactly what her character would have done.

I have a thing for ancient history and mythology, so it was nice to see the monsters have some similarity to Grendel and Grendel's Mother.

That Caroline was written by the same person who wrote Julia and Carly shows the range you have. If you're interested, try another story like this.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and reviewing!  I'm always curious what people think of this one, given how different it is from my other stories.  Nice catch on the Beowulf influence in the monsters.  While I definitely love this genre, the greater emphasis on character and narrative takes more time to plan out than, say, something with Carly or Julia.  In general, too, fewer readers are willing to check out stories like this, so I usually go with what "sells."  In the future, though, I'm interested in trying another gentle fantasy story, albeit in a shorter format.

Reviewer: Stubbornstain Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23 2013 3:35 PM Title: Chapter 7: Small

It's because I'm not used to a paragraph being laid out that manner. Whenever I read a story I expect the speech and the description to be separated out. Although I don't read published books that often, in English class I was taught to have sentences containing descripion and speech on separate lines. I feel that makes story easier to follow and it's the only way I know how write a story because that's what I taught in school.



Author's Response:

It is true, you'll generally see a breaking up of actions and dialogue over a paragraph, though in technical terms you don't have to unless it's a new speaker.  I do agree it's nicer to look at when broken up regardless, which is why I try to do that more on my stories nowadays.

Reviewer: Stubbornstain Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23 2013 4:10 AM Title: Chapter 9: Plans

I found it rather strange that she would say 2000 miles is pratically under her nose. As a comparison, 2000 miles is like going from one end of Europe to the other - Lisbon to Istanbul - then again she is able to use magic.



Author's Response:

It is that she's able to use magic.  2000 miles was intended to sound situationally comical given how much of a distance that is.

Reviewer: Stubbornstain Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23 2013 3:55 AM Title: Chapter 7: Small

In the paragraph that starts with the word "Phillip" (probably the largest paragraph but I'm not counting) there does seem to be an issue with formatting in that you haven't separated out the speech of the various characters.



Author's Response:

Not quite sure what you mean there, as Caroline is the only one with dialogue in that paragraph.

Reviewer: Stubbornstain Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23 2013 3:42 AM Title: Chapter 6: Sisters

I'm finally reading this story again. I see it's moving along a little slowly, but that's ok. I'm enjoying it so far. I probably should go back and reread previous chapters since its been a while but I do want to get to the end.



Author's Response:

Thanks for checking it out.  This being my longest story, it can be a bit of a slog.

Reviewer: Stubbornstain Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27 2013 11:11 AM Title: Chapter 5: Procedure

Here:

“A bit, perhaps, say… a matter inches?”

I believe you missed out the word: of



Author's Response:

Nice catch.

Reviewer: Stubbornstain Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27 2013 11:04 AM Title: Chapter 4: Story

I like the emphasis there is on the relationships between the characters though I do have mixed feelings about this chapter. There doesn't seem to be much in this chapter that moves the story forward, so unless Phillip is meant to be really important to the story, it feels like filler.

And for some reason, when Catherine first appeared, I was reminded of the story of Sleeping Beauty. However there was nobody present who could weaken the curse so I'm not sure why I thought of that story. I wonder if 'true loves kiss' will break this curse too?



Author's Response:

Phillip is somewhat important to the story.  Mainly I just wanted to go for character development here.  This whole story is intentionally a bit ponderous in its pacing.  Since I was going for the "emotion" angle I thought I better go all in.

Sleeping Beauty was a partial influence because of the witch's curse on a princess, though there's not a whole lot of other direct usage from it.  I took elements from a lot of other such fantasy stories though that you may notice.

Reviewer: Stubbornstain Signed [Report This]
Date: August 26 2013 7:50 AM Title: Chapter 3: Comfort

Catherine's story reminds me of what Uther Pendragon did to people who used magic. He drove them out and didn't trust magic. Caroline's dad appears to share some aspects as Uther and I imagine that Caroline will have some similarites in her story with Arthur Pendragon.



Author's Response:

Thanks for your reviews on this, I enjoy hearing thoughts on older stories.  It's an interesting perspective you have.  I think you'll find it to be true to an extent, though with a few twists later on in the story.

Reviewer: Stubbornstain Signed [Report This]
Date: August 26 2013 7:35 AM Title: Chapter 2: Tall

The chapter felt very emotional. There isn't enough emotion on giantessworld. Many of the stories are so drab.

Reviewer: Stubbornstain Signed [Report This]
Date: August 26 2013 7:28 AM Title: Chapter 1: Visitor

Can't believe I missed this story. I'm not sure what the diversity bone is but it must be a good thing because this was a nice start. Hopefully you'll be able to pull more such things out of thin air in the future.

Reviewer: LJin Signed [Report This]
Date: February 17 2012 2:21 PM Title: Chapter 1: Visitor

Wonderful story, very heartwarming. Took two days to read everything, I wanted to read everything in just one day but I didn't had much time.

I really really liked how Caroline loved and always protected her tiny brother Phillip, she was so gentle and careful handling him and the way you described those actions were so well written and vivid. :)

Thank you for writting this.



Author's Response:

absolutely. thanks for the review

Reviewer: eeveefan007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 14 2011 10:09 AM Title: Chapter 31: End

i read 5 chapeters every night from my NDSI GREAT story, it's a shame it's over now though. Maybe there could be a sequel? just a suggestion



Author's Response:

there could conceivably be a sequel at some point, i just prefer to work on my stories that get a little more attention, and this one went a little more unread than others. glad you liked it, though!

Reviewer: gtc Signed [Report This]
Date: August 13 2011 7:58 AM Title: Chapter 1: Visitor

When I saw this story was PG i thought it wouldn't be worth the read. Boy was I wrong. Caroline and Phillips chemistry stole the show. Just a very well written brother and sister relationship.



Author's Response:

i'm glad you liked it, and thanks for having an open mind despite your gut reaction to the PG

Reviewer: Pixis Signed [Report This]
Date: July 01 2011 5:53 PM Title: Chapter 1: Visitor

Just got caught up. Amazing story! My theory about Catherine and Caroline's connection (and why Elizabeth was merely a duchess) proved to be true. And Catherine became a giantess for the finale! Awesome! I hope my speculating in the comments didn't give anything away.

You asked for constructive criticism so I will say this -- the names were a bit distracting. England's royal family has had Elizabeths, Richards, Annes, and Phillips so these names came with baggage. For a fantasy setting, more unique names might have worked better.

My only disappointment was that Caroline never reached the height her mother and aunt did in the last chapter. The 100-200 foot range is my favorite and it would have been cool and sexy to see how Caroline handled interacting with the tiny people at that size. That's just personal taste though. Excellent job overall! This was a very good story.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the critiques; frankly, the only reason the names came out like that was because the story was such a "why not?" kind of thing when i started it, i was like "okay, names, names, i need names... ok, there we go."  As for the size thing, I really just did that so Catherine would appear as an impossibly imposing force to the gigantic Caroline, but I see your point; I'll keep these in mind if I ever try a fantasy story again.

You must login (register) to review.