Reviews For Elia's Empowerment
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Pixis Signed [Report This]
Date: April 01 2017 12:20 AM Title: New Priorities

I'm curious to see whether Elia will be more successful at ending slavery in Essos than Daenerys was in the actual timeline of the series. It will be quite a challenge. Can she walk the fine line of instilling fear and respect without becoming a monster?



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.

I wanted to show how much smaller the world would be to a ten mile tall Giantess in that she could walk through continents in moments and to deal with foreign cultures that she had no access to before her growth. I also wanted to show someone being presented almost countless possibilities and thus Elia is trying to do everything at once.

Daenerys has never been a top 10 character for me but I think in the books she did the best a 16 year old was ever going to do to attempt to end an institution that lasted thousands of years and was so utterly engrained into a culture that was never her own to begin with. Daenerys has her dragons and Elia has her huge size, both have magic and neither wishes to be cruel for the sake of it.

No spoilers but somewhere in the next few chapters Elia will make even more radical reforms closer to home that will affect her popularity and her son's rule.

Reviewer: microscopic boy Signed [Report This]
Date: March 21 2017 10:58 PM Title: Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken

This story is very good

Can be a bit natural

Elia can eat,can drink,can piss,...

Reviewer: microscopic boy Signed [Report This]
Date: March 19 2017 3:45 PM Title: Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken

love this story

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥



Author's Response:

Awww thanks a lot for the review, glad you are enjoying it! x

Reviewer: Pixis Signed [Report This]
Date: March 14 2017 10:03 PM Title: The Tower of Joy

I sort of feel bad for the Kingsguard. They were in an impossible position. Their prince, Rhaegar, commanded them to protect Lyanna and her child and declared that child his heir. Legally, they should have declared for Aegon once Rhaegar was dead but they were trying to honor his final wish. Well, at least Elia sentenced them to the Night's Watch rather than kill them.

Minor thing but the grammatical issues are still bugging me a bit (I'm an editor in my day job. Sorry). Word of advice: Plurals don't need an apostrophe. It would be Starks and Baratheons, not Stark's and Baratheon's.

Other than issues like that, this is a pretty cool story. I'm enjoying this alternate timeline and the fact that Elia is doing her best to be a gentle giantess.



Author's Response:

Hey thanks for the review and advice. Grammar is not my strongest technique so all advice is greatly welcomed.

 

I agree that the Kingsguard's were in an impossible situation and that they took their vows seriously and would not yield to anyone, no matter how futile their resistance would be.

I have tried to show Rhaegar as an idealist who wanted to do the right thing but not understanding or caring about how it is perceived by others. Rhaegar running off with Lyanna falls under that category and I could see Rhaegar naming Lyanna's child as his heir due to his belief in the power of the union of Ice and Fire.

Elia's beserk button is someone harming her children, and any ambiguity over who is King could be potentially hazardous for Aegon. Elia's tolerance for Ashara's and Stannis' defiance stems from her knowing it came from a duty to their loved ones as well as not harming Elia or other people in the long term.  I love writing Elia as a gentle Giantess who consciously wants to do the right thing, as well as trying to be a hands on loving mother and exploring her repressed desires at the same time.

I am glad you are enjoying this story, I have cool ideas in my head for future chapters.

 

 

Reviewer: Pixis Signed [Report This]
Date: March 09 2017 10:33 PM Title: Night and Day

Wow, the power of the ring caused the Doom of Valyria? That explains why no one used it before now. Nice plot twist.

If Elia can control her size, I hope she will spend some time at a less extreme scale. Several miles tall seems a bit over the top and makes interaction limited. At least for my tastes. But don't mind me, you should write what appeals to you. The story continues to be intriguing either way.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review, glad you liked my explanation about the ring. x

Reviewer: Shaman Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: March 08 2017 11:46 AM Title: Oh What A Night

The lenghty chapters combined with the upload frequency show your dedication to the story. Odd that you haven't cached a 5-star review with this one. Keep on going the way your are!



Author's Response:

Cheers thank you for that! Glad that you are enjoying the story. x

Reviewer: Pixis Signed [Report This]
Date: March 02 2017 5:11 PM Title: To Do The Right Thing

Nice chapter. Was Elia and Oberyn's desire for each other in the books or is that your invention? I thought brother/sister romance was more of a Targaryen thing but it's been a while since I read the series.

Also wondering where that magic gem came from. If the Valyrians made it, why didn't they use it to become giants? Or does it bring desires to life and no one wished for something this crazy before?

In any case, I'm enjoying your story and the chance to geek out about this universe a bit.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review really means a lot. I love the ASOIAF Universe and its wonderfully diverse characters and perspectives.

In A Storm of Swords in a conversation clearly designed to make Tyrion uncomfortable Oberyn says to him: "As children Elia and I were inseperable, much like your own brother and sister." Whilst I cannot imagine anything happening between them in canon due to the taboo nature of women having sex before marriage never mind incest, I do believe Oberyn at the very least desired Elia, and I can totally see him as the sweet confident boy making his sister's long spells of childhood illness much more bearable. Oberyn's contempt/jealousy at Elia's suitors is another case in point of how I think Oberyn felt about his sister and I do believe his relationship with Ellaria Sand is as close as he can get to a sexual relationship with Elia. Ellaria in the books is someone I perceive as being very similar to Elia in both looks and personality as she is a loving mother who lacks the selfishness/desire for violence that everyone else around her has.

We never see Elia's point of view at all in the series and I just love that openess that it gives. I just love the perceptions everyone else has of her. It could just be a romantic delusion of others on a victim of extreme violence, but I love the idea that the quiet sweet character inspiring great love to the bold adventurous Oberyn.

Do not worry I will explain later on why the ring has only ever grown Elia.

Will try to post Chapter 3 somepoint tomorrow. x

Reviewer: microscopic boy Signed [Report This]
Date: March 02 2017 8:56 AM Title: Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken

Very goooooooood story

Please continue



Author's Response:

Cheers thank you very much. I will be uploading my second chapter later. x

Reviewer: diesel Signed [Report This]
Date: March 02 2017 3:22 AM Title: Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken

You write very well. Please continue. It may be too technical for me. But you can write.

Author's Response:

Thank you very much. x

Reviewer: Pixis Signed [Report This]
Date: March 01 2017 9:39 PM Title: Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken

I never expected to see a Song of Ice and Fire giantess story. Elia Martell is an interesting choice of heroine for this. Instead of being slain by the Mountain, she becomes one.

For the most part, you capture the details of Westeros well. The word "ginormous" felt out of place though. Seems a bit too modern and slang-like.  Other than this and some grammatical issues, this story has me intrigued.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review, really means a lot. I love the ASOIAF universe and have really enjoyed writing this. Elia Martell is my favourite pre series character and I have always imagined her becoming a Giantess who escapes her horrific fate.

 

I will try to tighten the grammer up and I will think a little harder about my choice of vocabulary for the story.

You must login (register) to review.