Reviews For Jewels Of The Sky
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: HuzToru Signed [Report This]
Date: June 08 2016 4:58 PM Title: Chapter Eighteen

All I want to say is that your story is a great read. More so, towards the end of the chapter I couldn't help but smile of how the story is turning out. From Angels to the main male characters. 

Also, can you clear up a fact for me? Are the angels really "human" or are they somewhat robotic like Wanye mentions in the last chapter?

Lastly, your story is awesome.



Author's Response:

The Angels could be human or they could be robots. Though we don't have to limit ourselves to those binary options. They could, realistically, be a combination of the two, i.e. a cyborg. Yeah, I need to finish the story. I should release an e-book version so people can navigate it easily, and add some renders in to aid the imagination.

Thank you for your kind words. Sorry for not seeing your review sooner. Giantess World isn’t very good at letting me know when somebody has reviewed.

Reviewer: Nostory Signed [Report This]
Date: April 30 2016 6:59 AM Title: Chapter Zero (Prologue)

Sidney is growing well into the relationship he has with Persephone, she is no longer controlling him so tightly as she once did. I love that development!

Reviewer: gadgetmawombo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 29 2016 2:00 AM Title: Chapter Eighteen

Great chapter! Sidney has trouble arguing with Persophone sometimes doesn't he? Sometimes it seems like she's a disliked word away from killing him, honestly, what's with those subtle threats about crushing humans between her breasts and the like while she's trying to get his opinion. I don't understand how she can't see how passive agressively threatening people will color their opinions.

It's like she WANTS the REAL opinion of Sidney but at the same time wants get the opinion she agrees with, or else. That conversation in at the top of this chapter kinda irked me, I hate when people do that: ask for your real opinion but at the same time give subtle hints that if they don't like the opinion, you'll pay for it.

Anyway, enjoyed the chapter, I can't wait for more!

Reviewer: Nostory Signed [Report This]
Date: April 18 2016 7:36 AM Title: Chapter Seventeen

You uploaded the chapter twice, just pointing that out. Now I can see that things are getting complicated but unmasking Persephone is a big deal here. I like the look, it fits her behaviour.



Author's Response:

I have fixed that, along with doing some more proofreading. I spent more time than I should designing characters, and I have renders for all of the main ones. Even the names I spend ages looking for. Chosing names is hard for me. I think what'll do is add the profiles as the characters are introducted, so I'll have profiles at the end of some chapters.

Reviewer: gadgetmawombo Signed [Report This]
Date: April 18 2016 2:51 AM Title: Chapter Seventeen

Nice render at the end there. I guess Persophone can manipulate Sidney too, it's not a one way street here. I don't see why Sidney is so stubborn either, Persophone is infatuated with him, is gorgoeus, and I don't think she'll backstab him or anything. He does have a girlfriend tho so I guess he's gotta be faithful and all. Anyways great chapter, this is one of my favorites, no doubt, hope for another update soon!



Author's Response:

Thank you for your kind words. I've already made plans for the next chapter. Hopefully I can introduce a new giantess soon. Sidney is a confusing character I guess? Lots of conflicting thoughts in his head. I'm hoping I can update within the next two weeks and be more disciplined this time.

Reviewer: lancealot501 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 09 2016 3:38 PM Title: Chapter Fifteen

Wow, there is a lot of things that I want to say about this chapter and some other things that have been on my mind. This might get a little confusing but try to hear me out.

The first thing that have been on my mind is that the Angels just don't feel as powerful or intelligent as you would think. The only thing the angels have going for them is their size. I can understand that they are really big, but that seems to be it. Most battles occur in space which means that technology is doing all the hard work. We had then shown as intelligent because they hacked a state of the art ship, but now we know that is was done prematurely by code. The angels also seem gullible to a fault. I would just use their pride against them to lure them into a trap. All in all the angels are intimidating but we aren't seeing what they are capable of that a normal girl could do if they were the same size.

I'm still onnn the border with the whole diamonds thing. Other than drill bits, diamonds have no real value. We can actually make things artificially harder than diamonds. Unless the future has some sort of special use for them then it would have been better if the planet was made up of some unknown element that has some actual use.

I'm not trying to sound harsh but I just haven't seen anything special about the angels except for being really big. Other than that this is still a great story.

Author's Response:

I added this to a private message to you at Giantess City and I'm posting it here with some minor alterations so people can see my response to the points raised. You can ignore this if you wish, Lancealot501.

This is a long response so bear with me for a few minutes. And I hope you respond and clarify yourself. The essence of my reply is that I think you're not putting yourself in the humans' 'shoes' as it were and seeing the story with the 'reader's bias' as it were. And, just so you know, I plan to release some visual aids to help the reader visualize the main characters.

You're not seeing it from the human perspective. You know things, being a reader, that 99% or more humans in the story don't know. They weren't aware the Angels had help. What the humans see is a power hungry, and seemingly unstoppable, giantess.

They do know the Angels have pride, and maybe you are right that they are gullible. However, maybe they (or their flagships) have design flaws built in purposefully to keep them in check. Like a fail safe.

Moving onto the diamonds, I have two things to say. Firstly, I know that diamonds are nothing special (so I buying diamond jewellery is stupid to me), but most people don't know that prices are kept artificially high. Secondly, what if the Angels were created to manufacture wars as well?

What if the arms manufacturers were in on them too? Which they must be because his else could they get such big ships. What if this is also part of a plan to drive up sales of military hardware too?

Even today people talk about how the billionaire class rule the world, secretly. Some people don't care how many people suffer in their pursuit to be richer. The Angels make perfect sense from sales perspective. They seem somewhat alien yet they manage to be sufficiently human.

I don't like I unknown elements. I want this story to be science fiction not science fantasy. I'm trying to make it believable, and within the scope of possibility.

When you say: "we aren't seeing what they are capable of that a normal girl could do if they were the same size."

You're seeing things as the reader. Eris took the credit for hacking the ship. As far as the humans on that ship were concerned, the Angels can do things humans can't do. Yes, it's all an elaborate façade, but the humans fighting them don't know that.

In summary: I don't think you're bring harsh. Instead, I think you're being short-sighted. You forgot to remember a that you know things the typical human does not know. The average human will buy into that fear, like how more people die because in motor vehicle accidents than terrorism but we must be scared of terrorists. Keeping diamond prices artificially high may be a side effect or a sideshow.

Billionaires like to hang out with each other at exclusive clubs, be members of exclusive organizations and attend secret meetings. It's conceivable that several individual billionaires decided to start working together for a common goal after having discussions at a secret meeting. That common goal being to increase their wealth.

So what you might have is a closely guarded meeting of C.E.O.s of different companies plotting create entities that achieve their common purpose. Since you've finally reached the newest chapter, it might be worth you going to read the reviews now as there has been extensive discussion about the story already, as well as with user NoStory, in private, via e-mail before posting chapters.

There is still room to expand the reasons the Angels were created. The mining companies don't have be mining for just diamonds after all. Platinum would be even better than gold I suspect.

In terms of special powers, I want them all to be something theoretically possible in biology so that's quit restrictive. Maybe Eris secrets poison; I don't know? Perhaps Nike could have had the ability withstand the vacuum of space (like those tardigrades that were taken into space and put on the outside of the I.S.S. and survived), allowing her to get up close and personal with the humans, but her arrogance ultimately cost her. In my discussions with NoStory, we agreed that whoever kills Eris will need to get up close somehow because she has an 'Achilles heel' if you will. My understanding is you don't want spoilers so unless you ask I won't say more.

Reviewer: lancealot501 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 08 2016 1:36 PM Title: Chapter Twelve

Alright, so I'm completely wrong about Wayne. If he did create the angels you would think that the goddess would want him dead. If I was in her shoes I wouldEliminate the guy would could potentially find a weakness.

Now it seems that either Persephone's daughter wants Sidney to be happy or she wants to know more about her mother.

Reviewer: lancealot501 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 07 2016 10:32 AM Title: Chapter Eight

Just some quick grammar things I saw. I think you forgot 'than' when talking about Woah's flood. Also the last sentence is missing a'him' so it would become keeping him alive.

this seems to be a great chapter as always. Really enjoyed the Persephone interactions and some background information. The thing that was weird for me was the fact that her daughter, who is human, also eats human meat. I can understand angels doing it because they aren't completely human anymore but a fellow human leaves me a bit uneasy.

From the last part of this chapter it leads me to believe that even the angels don't know how they were made except maybe the goddess herself. It also seems that Sydney's human government wasn't the ones to create the angels or they would have made some to combat that goddess. I'm sure that we'll learn the truth in due time, but having more Persephone is always a good thing.

. Macross Frontier is an anime about pilots fighting giant bugs in space with an awesome sound track. One pilot is Klan Klang who is a loli while in shrunken human form but turns into a busty giantess in her regular form. One of the best anime I've ever watched.

Author's Response:

But what if Althea, as a result of being pampered by Persephone, doesn't consider herself human? There will be more of both her and Persephone in the future chapters, that you can be sure of. I will find those mistakes and correct them.

Reviewer: lancealot501 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 07 2016 9:42 AM Title: Chapter Seven

So we find out that Wayne was in a similar position as Sidney and could have been what Sidney would eventually turn into if the angels didn't find him so important.
After saying that I don't think that I'm going to miss Wayne all that much. He seemed to be a 'information' character at best.

I was expecting to see more of Persephone and I wasn't disappointed in the least. You put the right amount of detail that just made the character 'pop' out to the reader. It was also nice to know that not all angels are monsters, sort of.
Now I want to know more about the angels. Are they a different species or are they actually humans that were specifically chosen by the goddess and transformed somehow into the giantessthey are now. I was also expecting her daughters to bigger slightly bigger than average if angels are artificially made.

Lastly I find it really ironic that the one Angel we know to have died was Nike the Greek goddess of victory herself.

Reviewer: lancealot501 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 07 2016 9:11 AM Title: Chapter Five

I'm not into feet at all and through all of the giantess stories I have read very few have every interested me. I gotta say that this one chapter has been added to the select few. It was amazing how you described how the huge chamber was only big enough to fit the angels feet.
It's nice to know that Wayne isn't a total jerk. Grumpy at times sure but his true feeling towards Nyx seem odd.
Lastly I'm glad to finally get more interaction with Persephone, but I just got the feeling that Nyx is going to do a d@$k move and destroy the perfectly good airplane.

Reviewer: lancealot501 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 06 2016 3:03 PM Title: Chapter Four

Alright so Nyx is a whole lot bigger than what I imagined her to be. I guess we'll see I'm future chapters if there is a size difference between the angels. I thought originally that they were between 50-70feet tall but I was way off. I don't know why but I deeply enjoy when a women ends up being a lot bigger than what we thought. It was excellent how you had her feet come down from the ceiling. I'll continue to review this as I read it.

Reviewer: lancealot501 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 06 2016 8:32 AM Title: Chapter Three

Finally glad that we are getting a sense of how big these ladies are. Some things seemed off about their entire situation but I'm sure the next bunch of chapters will sort everything out. I can already see that this is going to be a very vast and complex story and I'm liking every bit of it. Kinda reminds me of Nova Force.

Lastly I'd like to give some professional advice on'radio communication'.

Over-you have finished speaking and are waiting a response.
Out- you have finished a transmission and are not expecting a reply. Think of hanging up a phone.
Over and out- never used because it's redundant. Hollywood is to blame for this. Basically you are saying I want a response but I'm done talking to you.
And lastly every individual would have a unique call sign that wouldn't be their name(for security reasons) typically if your just talking with one person then you would only identify yourself and the other person for the first time. After that you would just say over at the end until you are done with the transmission.

Author's Response:

It's rare that I find reviews this helpful. Now I know I'll have to rewrite parts of the chapter. But that's a good thing. Maybe I'll do a render of one of your stories as a thanks over the weekend. I'm liking your reviews.

Reviewer: lancealot501 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 06 2016 7:30 AM Title: Chapter One

Only on chapter 2 right now and I'm trying to avoid the reviews in case of spoilers. I'm really enjoying this story right now, it kinda reminds me of Macross Frontier. I'll keep reading and reviewing until I'm caught up with this.

Lastly I'd like to make a comparison about your story. I'm starting to believe that you based both the Captain and partially Sidney on Dr. John Hammond from Jurassic Park. Just replace 'state of the art' with 'we spared no expense'

Author's Response:

Never watched Jurrasic Park. Nor have I read Marcross Frontier. So I don't know. But do tell of Marcross Frontier. A link to it?

Reviewer: Nostory Signed [Report This]
Date: February 24 2016 6:40 AM Title: Chapter Sixteen

Its not much a cliffhanger, as you pointed out but it is at least one where Sidney can relax just enough without worrying about someone dying.

Oh and you left this in here: (proofread to here) 

 

Reviewer: gadgetmawombo Signed [Report This]
Date: February 23 2016 6:39 PM Title: Chapter Sixteen

Methinks that Sidney wasn't expecting the ridiculous over the top lust that Persophone displayed here! I suppose everyone has their vices, for her, it's sex... Amazing stuff dude! I really enjoyed the chapter!

Reviewer: aaron Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 18 2016 7:58 PM Title: Chapter Fifteen

Wow. This story is truly epic. Incredible job you've done to create such a fascinating world.
Just gonna get this out there that I absolutely love the name Persephone, how it sounds and what it represents.

As I'm initially reading I'm kinda vexed because we cannot see the angels' faces but then I think how unique that concept is. I mean sure people have written stories where they purposefully leave certain details regarding a giantesses/goddesses appearance so that we the readers can come to our own assumptions of what this individual actually looks like. However you have taken that idea to a completely different level by not just having the reader not know what the Angels look like but also any humans not deemed worthy. Genius.(although I think the veil is much more sexy and mysterious than some kind of helmet that bends light or something, as cool as it sounds) Unfortunately you didn't go into very much detail about said helmet so it was kinda confusing, for me at least, how the thing looks or works.
Chapter 6(well actually 5 since chapter 1 is the prologue) is by far my favorite. The way you delivered it was perfect. Of course I'm a bit biased because I have a certain affinity towards sexy feet. I really like how you conveyed the size difference between Nyx and Sidney in that scene as well.(what I'm saying is that if I could write how I want to in my head, that's how I would hope it'd come out, if that makes sense)

Enjoyed the whole thing about how the main angel(Eris I think the name was) was working with the miners the entire time and is in fact a creation of the miners herself.
My only problem is that there seems to be a chapter missing because the last two chapters are identical.

Anyways, spectacular story and I really hope that you continue it.

aaron
PS I'm gonna fav this story and you as an author.

Author's Response:

Hi,

Chapter fourteen and fifteen both displayed chapter fifteen for some reason, and I've not changed that so that they display the correct chapters. You can go back and read that chapter if you wish now. I have no idea how that happened.

Bending light is something humans can achieve today. It's not science fiction. Here you go: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxH1rmOTpFA (I'm sure you can find other videos on the subject if you look).

Yes, I could go into more detail, but I'm not sure how. I am in the process of writing the next chapter, and I'm not sure how many more they'll be, Thank you for your kind words, and I really expected you review sooner than you did. And I suppose this is just what I needed to incentivize me to work faster.

Reviewer: Nostory Signed [Report This]
Date: December 19 2015 6:40 PM Title: Chapter Zero (Prologue)

Persephone won't buy it but then again she has to,  she herself has no explanation on who was her mother and where she came from?  Loved it, especially Althea here rhere is something adorable about her. 

Reviewer: gadgetmawombo Signed [Report This]
Date: December 18 2015 6:35 PM Title: Chapter Fifteen

Jeez, Sidney's life is the definition of women troubles. He's got a crazy sociopath and trigger happy cannibal, a giantess with a god complex who is unwilling to listen to reason and has a taste for human flesh, and now this girl, who he knew from before and doesn't seem too stable herself. I probably would have gone insane by now, its a testament that Sidney can keep his morals intact with all the crazy he's breathing in.



Author's Response:

One of the key qualities needed of astronauts, and indeed pilots, is the ability to keep calm under pressure. Seeing as Sidney has been described as an ace naval pilot, it's safe to say that he excels in all of natural talent needed to be in the military, and out in the vacuum of space. As military service optional (on Mars) it is reasonable to assume that there was some kind of screening process for applicants.

 

If Sidney was the sort of person to go crazy easily then he wouldn't have been accepted. And, after all, this is mission to Eris's system was far from his first. He's proven himself an ace pilot so he's probably been in lots of tough situations.

 

But perhaps Sidney is slowly going crazy? It certainly wouldn't be a quick transition. Or perhaps I'm being too generous to Sidney. Not that it matters, of course, because everyone interprets a story and its characters differently.

 

Reviewer: Nostory Signed [Report This]
Date: November 29 2015 8:19 AM Title: Chapter Zero (Prologue)

If you do get your own server and create your own website, send me an email. I want to post my stories there :)

Great to hear you will be finishing the story here and I really hope there are more additions to the site's features. 

Reviewer: Nostory Signed [Report This]
Date: November 26 2015 7:33 AM Title: Chapter Zero (Prologue)

I love this story,  would love to see you at least finish it here.  I wouldn't mind the new layout if the most recent,  featured  sections were still here.  Not to mention the top 10 lists,  its all gone!  Hopefully this layout is not the final version.  I got to say though I'll miss the shoutbox.  Wonder if stories will be read more now that the front page is missing the most recent display. 



Author's Response:

If you would like to know who the top ten most prolific reviewers are/were, I was sad enough to create a spreadsheet for that. All you'd have to do is update it regularly by going to each of the ten profiles of the people listed on it. I might even have an old screen shot somewhere, and the page might still exist even though all links to it have disappeared. You can e-mail me for that. One of these days, I'll have to buy myself a server and start my own website, and I'll make sure improves upon Giantess World, for a brief period my favourite website.

I've had a change of heart about this story, and I will not disrespect the reviewers by removing it from this website. I had hoped to have it completed by the New Years, but it now looks as if it will run into 2016. Fifteen chapters was a gross underestimate. I expect at least another four more chapters.

You must login (register) to review.