Reviews For An Innocent Man
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Intheliar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 29 2021 4:07 AM Title: The Plea

 It took me far too long to get around to reading this. Namely because I had a sneaking suspicion that I might become obsessed once I started. So, here I am, about four hours later after starting this series, leaving a review. The 80th review, if I'm not mistaken! Congratulations, you've earned the milestone!

 I'm a bit of a coward-- the cruel encounters and actions in this story were relatively tame compared to some other titles, such as the actions of the Chevs or the encounter with Cathy in what was supposed to be a safe haven. You really had me bashing my head against my pillow at one point, but that just goes to show the power someone's writing can have on another! You create emotions from thin air, or in my case, a small phone screen.

 But... The cute interactions between Allie and Brian were a big hook for me. I actually smiled a great deal throughout my initial foray into this story. I'm a sucker for gentle encounters, and plot driven stuff works well with it! I had questions, and you routinely answered all of them (maybe except working out how Brian uses the bathroom on his own, but honestly I don't mind if you never explain that lmao).

 One more thing I'd like to compliment is explaining the characters' mental thoughts and reactions to events. On several occasions it was really charming to see Allie fret and become flustered on her own mistakes, and really regretting some of it heavily. Something about a guilty giantess resonates within me. Having Allie constantly worried about Brian's mental health and 'how he would take things' was very sweet of her character.

 I certainly hope they continue to flourish and grow together, and work on becoming more honest and careful. It was a bit hard for me to read through the argument chapter, mainly because I'm so conflict-avoidant. But it seems everything turned out alright in the end!

 Also, I liked the idea of them just taking the day off in the weekend chapters. So comfy to read through that.

 You have more strength than I do, in your ability to start and flesh out a story. I'm jealous on that word count haha. But, I know what it's like to start a chapter and not want to break it up into sections. When I typed the long-since-deleted Asher's Small Lifestyle Change story, I think I typed a sixteen thousand word final chapter. My fingers hurt for awhile after that, and I started to tone it down a lot ever since.

 One more thing, I added you to my favorite authors with a small caption. Go and read it, should you fancy to..!

 And, seeing as there's more stories to read on this series, I guess that means...

 This review is not over!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the review!! I'm really happy to see a review from you, it means a lot. Also, thank you very much for the 80th review!

I'm honestly not a huge fan of cruel stuff either, despite what this story might suggest. This is an example where the cruel stuff was included to fit the world/create drama. Even Cathy's session was created less because I enjoy that type of content, and more so because it would cause Brian's breakdown. Which is perhaps just a different type of cruelty... oh well. Either way, gentle stuff is my true love. Now that Allison is no longer a Chevalier, I'm happy to (mostly) leave that stuff behind. I'm glad it created an emotional response, though!

I'm really happy that you enjoyed their relationship! That's ultimately what I wanted to write about. I agree, gentle interactions and plot go very well together, since gentle interaction isn't necessarily sexual by nature. As a side note, I spent way too much time debating how to go about the bathroom thing. I ultimately just decided to lampshade it a bit, since I figured it really wasn't that important to the story. It made sense for them to raise the issue, but the specifics seemed unnecessary to explain (and potentially gross). I lampshade it even more in the second story, so at this point I'm committed. Whatever the solution is, it totally absolutely definitely makes perfect sense, trust me!!

I love a nervous/considerate/guilty giantess, too! I think it's super sweet, so I'm glad you enjoyed Allison's thoughts. I also know what you mean, I hated writing the argument chapter. I really don't like writing conflict between them, but sometimes it makes sense for the story. Oh well, like you said it works out in the end. I loved writing the weekend chapters, though. I love comfy cozy relaxing content. 

Damn, 16k words for a chapter is nuts! That would definitely make my fingers sore, too. I didn't have a sense for how long my chapters should be, but I don't like to go above 6000 words. No particular reason, it just feels too long for me. However, I usually just write until the scene is done, I've never cut/added stuff to meet a particular word count.

Thank you so much for adding to me for your favorites! I absolutely love that caption, I will gladly accept that description. I'm all about that positivity and supportiveness, so I'm really glad if I was able to provide encouragement. 

Thanks again for the review, I really appreciate it. I see that you've already reviewed the second story, so I'll go respond to that one as well! I'm really glad you enjoyed the story.

-Pluto

Reviewer: WhydoIhave Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 12 2021 9:26 AM Title: The Path

Love this story. It had a good plot, unique premise, and overall good characters. I would love to see a continuation somehow.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much for reading! I'm really happy that you enjoyed the plot, premise, and characters. As for a continuation, you're in luck! The sequel is already up, and there are only a few chapters left. It's even longer than this story, so I hope you'll enjoy it and let me know your thoughts! Thanks again for the review.

-Pluto

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: April 01 2021 1:42 PM Title: The Plea

Welcome, and thanks.

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: March 31 2021 5:02 PM Title: The Path

I look forward to reading the sequel.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much for reading, and the reviews! I'm really glad you continued to enjoy the story the whole way through. I'm also glad that the emotions resonated with you, even if they aren't the most positive emotions. It's definitely really important to have a good support system when you're going through difficult times, and I'm glad you have someone you can count on. Thanks again for reading the story, and I hope you enjoy the sequel!

-Pluto

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: March 31 2021 4:45 PM Title: The Damage

This chapter hit close to home for me, I haven't experienced things as nearly as bad as Brian, thankfully, but I do know how he feels about so few people trusting him. I count myself fortunate I have someone in my life that trusts me as much as Allie does trust Brian. Still wish a woman could love me that much though... Depression sucks, suicidal ideation sucks, PTSD sucks, I wouldn't wish such feelings on anyone. Not anyone.

 

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: March 31 2021 11:34 AM Title: The Plea

No problem. Don't worry about me, you didn't do anything wrong, I appreciate the concern though. I look forward to reading the rest of it.

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: March 30 2021 6:14 PM Title: The Weekend, Part One

Good story so far, I can relate tp Brian in some ways, someways I can't, I'm not asexual for one. I'm not a big fan of the LOTR franchise, but that has more to due with painful experiences in my life than personal taste.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading, and I'm glad you're enjoying it so far! I feel the same way about Brian. I drew upon a couple aspects of my personality when thinking him up, but for the most part he is very different. And I'm sorry to hear about LOTR for you, since I may or may not continuously reference it throughout this story and the sequel... Regardless, I hope you enjoy the rest of the story!

-Pluto

Reviewer: KevinR Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 23 2021 11:19 PM Title: The Plea

Fantastic story. I love the Chevalier shrink penalty constuct. Well written and thought out. I would not change a thing. I kept worrying that Brian would notice stains on Allies shoes and start freaking out again.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review! I really appreciate your kind words, and I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Yes, Allison probably was extra thorough in cleaning her shoes after she brought Brian home. I just started writing the sequel to this story, so I hope you will enjoy it as well!

-Pluto

Reviewer: wisecrack3 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19 2021 3:15 PM Title: The Path

Absolutely spectacular story, loved the character dynamics and the conclusion of Cathy's character arch. Brian is such a unique take on the shrinkee role and the whole story had an air of charisma around it constantly! It's nice to see a really good story that isn't so focused on the fetishy parts of giantess fandom, it's a genuinely good read and with some minimal tweaking it could probably be put in a library!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading! I'm very happy that you enjoyed the characters and plot beyond the fetish aspect. It really made me smile to read that you think it could maybe be put in a library. Thanks again for the review, and I hope you will enjoy any stories I write in the future!

-Pluto

Reviewer: straysatyrs Signed [Report This]
Date: January 14 2021 8:56 PM Title: The Plea

Holy shit. Where do I even start?

 

-The Situations-

At every step, it felt like you took the hardest way out. Not only were you avoiding the path of least resistance (praiseworthy in and of itself), you were doing the exact opposite. Chapters 9-10 are probably the best examples; having Cathy show up uninvited, her finding Brian, and then not telling her the truth is a hell of situation to put your characters in. The foreshadowing to set up Allison smuggling Brian out was brilliant, too.

 

-The Subversion-

You definitely fooled me with that first chapter, but even that served a narrative purpose: setting up a status quo to be broken. It would've been easy to start it off cold like that, and just tell us what the status quo is. But no, you set the tone: you're going to show us. We have to see why Brian's case is special.

All the points about taking the hard way also apply here, since I thought, at every point at the end of Chapter 9, "Okay, there's no way he's gonna go there, right?" but then you went there anyway.

Chapter 11 was a very difficult chapter for me, likely by design. I've read punishment scenes like this before without any issue. It's not my cup of tea, but I can read it. But here, I'm really invested in these characters. It sort of feels like karma to the reader, in a weird way, for so easily accepting the violence characters in other stories experience. It was really interesting to see these common fantasies approached from "the other side", so to speak.

 

-The Writing-

Perfect grammar and spelling is rare enough. But this? I could do literary analysis to this. The repetition of phrases as a rhetorical device is genuinely reminding me of Slaughterhouse-Five in a way, so that's a good sign. Has the sort of black humor and wit, too. Also, you wrote this in less than a month?? How???

 

-The Characters-

Allison and Brian are both very well fleshed-out, enough to have me digging into my thighs in Chapter 11 waiting for the session to end. Not only do these details give the characters depth, but they're used for narrative purposes as well. The "Weekend" chapters, character development, and emotional journeys would all be impossible without them. Their interactions are lovely, too. I'm pretty sick of the giant/ess just being awful to the tiny, but Allison and Brian's relationship feels reciprocal and friendly. My heart melted into a puddle whenever they were together.

 

Wow, this got long. Y'know, I don't normally like writing essays. I guess, in summary, you're going above and beyond, doing all of the stuff real books would do. Please continue to write in the future! This was such a breath of fresh air.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the review! I remember your first review, and I'm really happy that you continued to enjoy the story!!

I really appreciate your kind words, and I'm very glad that you liked the various literary/narrative choices that I made.

I'm happy that you enjoyed how the first chapter served the story! You completely nailed what I was going for.

Yes, Allison and Brian certainly had a pretty rough time throughout the story. I'm glad that you connected with them, even though it had the effect of making some scenes harder to read!

The comparison to Slaughterhouse-Five is a great honor! I definitely tried to use repitition a lot, so I'm glad it came through for you. I may have written this in under a month, but I was either working on or thinking about it pretty much nonstop! It got to the point where I was having pretty strange dreams.

Again, thank you very much for the review! After the response to this story, I'm certainly encouraged to write another one in the future. If I do, I hope you will enjoy it!!

-Pluto

Reviewer: Curvograph Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 13 2021 7:24 PM Title: The Plea

Forgot to rate, sorry.



Author's Response:

No worries! Incidentally, your rating got me to 70 reviews! Perhaps a meaningless number, but it still makes me happy. Thanks for the rating!!

-Pluto

Reviewer: Curvograph Signed [Report This]
Date: January 13 2021 7:22 PM Title: The Path

Despite the large number of positive reviews, I did not read your story as chapters were being released. Having noticed its finished status a few days ago, I felt motivated to get acquainted with it as soon as possible - which in turn ended with me binge reading it.

You crafted a truly heartwarming piece of writing, one that deviates strongly from the average of this site. Quality-wise, the story is very good, though I have to point some issues:

 

  • as mentioned by other reviewers, the characters thoughts are explained all too often, even when they are pretty evident. There are times when characters' actions do not tell the whole story, but in Allie's case her motivations, once clarified, were well-known;
  • the ending, emotional and optimistic as it was, failed to resolve all the story arcs (probably just managing to fully tie up Allie's unfortuate career choice);
  • Brian's (a)sexuality issue: it really feels more like a defense mechanism of a  naturally introvert  preson in face of dreadful circumstances. Brian is shown to never have been an outgoing individual and his mother's betrayal only served to create a deeper feeling of distrust for the world. It is no wonder he does not get aroused, but Allie letting it go seems off, given that it looks to be the case of a mental barrier that needs to be dissolved.
  • the Cathy character - she is a total mystery to me and her actions make little sense. The way she is portrayed feels incomplete, as though we - as readers - were missing something important. At the beginning she seemed like a shallow lass, who got off kinky stuff; the last chapter shows an entirely different person though. Too bad we may never know...

 

By now you may have realised that my critique has a purpose: I really cannot wait for Book II to see the light of day and that is where the issus above coud be adressed. The tale is by no means finished and I believe it deserves to be told in full. I just hope lo live long enough to read it (so do not follow the Winds of Winter path).
Sincerely, C

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review! I'm really glad that you decided to read this story. For sure, binging stuff can be way more fun than reading it as each chapter comes out. I really appreciate the criticism!

-Looking back, I totally see the point about too many thought explanations. I'll keep this in mind for future stories!

-I would like to push back on this point a little. It's important to distinguish story arcs and character arcs. While the ending only resolved the one story arc, my focus was on Allison and Brian's character arcs. Obviously, this won't mean much if you were hoping more for story arc conclusions, but I at least wanted to explain my thought process.

-I definitely didn't expect people to push back on Brian's sexuality so much. I do think we have to be careful when saying that his asexuality is tied to his trauma, as if it's something that Allison needs to "fix." That's something that happens all too often with asexual characters in fiction (Dexter Morgan comes to mind), and it can be pretty damaging to actual asexuals. With that being said, I understand how it makes sense in Brian's context. In regards to that, I'll just say this- Allison never explicitly accepted Brian's asexuality, only that they would not be able to have a traditionally sexual relationship. I forgot to say this in my response to other reviews, but it was definitely intentional!

-I see your (and others) point about Cathy. If I do a continuation, I'll be sure to explain Cathy's actions better!

Overall, I really appreciate the feedback! There's certainly a lot of story left that could be told. If I may distinguish myself from GRRM a bit in regards to future stories, I would like to make clear that a follow up story is in no way guaranteed. I'm not going to close the door on the possibility, obviously, but as of now I'm not planning on it. Life is about to start up again for me pretty soon, so at least for the time being I need to step away. Regardless, I'm really happy that you enjoyed this story enough to want a sequel!! Thanks again for reading, and the detailed review!

-Pluto

Reviewer: johnsmith10992 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 09 2021 12:12 PM Title: The Path

Wow, what an amazing close. For me it was almost perfect. Though I wish it wasn't left with acceptance for his asexuality. Just seemed pretty clear it was a front for him. A self-label to keep that aspect of himself closed off from others. From being hurt. That also goes against Allie's constant setting of goals. Not advocating an explicit approach, but simply that she enjoys breaking through barriers with him and discover who he truly is deep down. I just don't buy him being asexual deep down, not with everything we've seen so-far. Perhaps that's an aspect your saving for a sequel or spin-off down the line? Other than that, well-done!



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review! I'm glad that you enjoyed the ending. I understand your point about Brian's sexuality, and I'm sorry if you were disappointed about how that was left. I suppose I just didn't think it was a focus point of the story, more just an aspect of his character. If I ever do a follow up, I'll be sure to keep what you've said in mind!

Also, let me just say that I so incredibly appreciate your continued reviews. Thank you so much for reviewing every chapter. I always looked forward to your thoughts, and reviews such as yours made it much easier to keep writing. Thank you so much again, and I'm very happy that you enjoyed the story the whole way through!

-Pluto

Reviewer: squashed123 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 09 2021 11:46 AM Title: The Path

Starting out strong with lots of promise and innuendo. Sadly, many strains seem to lead nowhere. Maybe it's just that I'm not so much into gentle stuff, at least when it isn't contrasted with some real danger. But I didn't like the ending, the way in which all just falls into place, Cathy turns out to be abou t as deep as a puddle and everyone lives happily ever after. 

But if that's your thing... 

In terms of writing, I felt like the earlier chapters were better as well. I don't need Allie's thoughts so often, especially when everything she thinks is so blatantly obvious. Mainly, though, I am sad that the story is over, which tells me that I really enjoyed it after all. 

I can hardly wait for your next submission. Please keep at it. You are good. 



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review! I'm sorry to hear that you didn't like the ending, but I'm glad that you enjoyed it overall.

-Pluto

Reviewer: SmallLeo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 09 2021 10:23 AM Title: The Plea

Dang I really thought you were gonna go for the cinematic ending there, ya know where He Basejumps into her boobs xD jk jk.

this was a really pleasant read and I will keep an eye out for your name again ;)



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review! You never know, maybe something like that happened right after the point where the story ended. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the story!

-Pluto

Reviewer: sandman579 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 09 2021 10:12 AM Title: The Path

I really enjoyed seeing a relationship full of emotions and dialogue get so developed and fleshed out. I hope yoou do take up a 2nd chapter in the world setting to further the plot and answer questions we were left with.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed their relationship. That was ultimately what I wanted to write about, after all! Hard to say if I'll write any more stories set in this world, but you never know. At the very least, I need to step away for the time being, since I'm going to be a lot busier starting pretty soon. Either way, thank you so much for reading this story!

Reviewer: vegetaboy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 09 2021 9:32 AM Title: The Path

I feel like while this is a great emotional ending, I still would love to see this continued into a second story, or continuation.

Mostly due to the fact after all the shit and pain Brian has been through, I feel he needs that public delcaration of innocents.

(and yes a system wide sweep needs to be made of the Chevallier system) even though the system is most likely swimming with corruption. And you could bet Allison would be targeted, maybe by a underground/secret branch of Chavellier's who officially don't exist but go around doing the same thing that happened to Brian but in secret, taking out and shrinking people whom try and expose the shady shit they are up to.

Cathy's goodbye to Allison was a bit chilling, like she left it open ended but you can tell part of her takes sick pleasure in killing them and she knows this herself that she's a fucked up person deep down.

She still should get on her fucking knees and beg Brian for forgiveness over what she did to him. Again I just feel Cathy needs to know for certain that Brian is innocent (and the public, and his mother) while Brian also needs that acknowledgment, (and come on, seeing that bitch humbled and on her kees realizing she tortured and hurt an innocement man would give me such a rush and cathartic moment) 

Brian's mother can go to hell, shrink that bitch for all I care XD

But yeah, in my opinion this feels like the end of "Act 1" if that makes sense?

I would definitely love to stick around for more :) 



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review! I really appreciate that you decided to keep reviewing. People definitely seem to want some kind of follow up, or epilogue. I'll be sure to keep that in mind!

You're right, this was definitely an "Act 1" type of ending in regards to the overarching plot. It might be fun to do a 'far future' type epilogue where I show the ulitmate ending for all the characters. I can't say if it will actually happen, but if it does I hope you will tell me your thoughts! Thank you so much for reading this story.

-Pluto

Reviewer: HOZANGA Signed [Report This]
Date: January 09 2021 8:37 AM Title: The Path

Aaah, here I am reviewing this story for what is hopefully NOT the last time. You never know when an epilogue might occur.. ;) *This review will be pretty big.*

First off, I am so so so, SO fucking glad Allie is not a chevalier anymore. I absolutely loved the fact that she couldn't even handle one more session, she was just that much against her job as all us readers were.

Now. While Cathy didn't get the treatment I would have hoped, I'm actually not mad, I liked the way she understood everything and chose to respect Allie's choice, and i REALLY liked the way she replied when Allie asked her if she liked being a chevalier, or if it was for her own "pleasure", for me it was almost as if she said the words "I could care less about the chevalier bullshit, it just gets me off and it aint illegal". Which just somehow makes Allies point about the SPAR being BS that much prominent, even a chevalier who likes her job doesn't actually do it for justice.. (?) 

Since the story is over I would love to hear how close my Cathy thesis is to the truth.. for a bit of extra closure ;)

Now as for Brian, I've read the story partly imagining me in his shoes sometimes, and to be honest, even as a reader who knows this is a fictional story, I still get doubts about Allie. I absolutely love her and I'm 99.9999.....% sure that she would never do anything to hurt Brian but it's just, Not receiving help from anyone in your life only to be helped by your to be executioner must have some effect on your psychology, even if that person ends up being your wife..

Regardless I'm happy that their relationship ended- or rather, started (officialy) the way it did! you can clearly tell Allie is already in love with him and judging from his reply, Brian is too. While this gave me some closure for this story I would still love to see some development in a possible future spin off/continuation should you decide to make one.

One thing i "didn't like" (meaning I just expected it to go another way but eh, such is life, we don't always get what we expect!) Is how Brian never returned to his original size.. I know that in theory such tech doesn't exist, but I'm sure that since the tech to shrink people has been invented, the tech to enlarge people won't be that hard to invent either ;) I am now yearning for a future story where Brian's innocence is proven (or not.. although I'd love to see it happen) and he is reverted back to his original size. I just feel like the relationship between him and Allie would evolve beyond a different level and would allow for a "they lived happily ever after" ending 

As for the mentor, I didn't completely understand why she proposed Allie as a candidate to become a chevalier since she was against the SPAR, although I guess it was because she knew that eventually Allie would see how corrupt the system is and would choose to fight it, still a shame Allie had to kill people to end up realizing that.. even though she gave up her job I still feel she's a bit "stained"... Like a murderer who didn't commit murders because she liked it, but did it for the money, although I'm surely a bit biased because I hate the "did it for the money" people.. (Hence why I've started liking Cathy a bit more... seems like she enjoys being a chevalier and owns up to it for different reasons). Regardless I'd also like to see this mentor help prove Brian's innocence.

Finally (I think) I may have not paid enough attention at some point of the story but I didn't quite get what was the supposed body that Allie showed Cathy on her phone.. It was mentioned that they "both knew what it was" but I just couldn't put my finger on it..

 

So to sum it up!

1. Thank FUCK Allie ain't a chevalier anymore. Thanks for that

2. Is Cathy purely a chevalier for her own sexual pleasure? I would love it if you could answer this... it would make her that much better in my mind.. ;)

2.1 Tbh if I was a normal sized male in your universe chances are I'd go date Cathy, she has something mischevious about her, maybe we'd make our own games on account of some shrinkies' "fate" ;) after all I'm sure double shrinkie sessions are not a normal occurence but it'd make for a spicy relationship! So just chuck at her a pair of doc martens boots that have some shrinkie bodies stuck between the soles and some blood on them for fetish reasons, and she is my go to giantess gf ;P

3. After writing the review my doubts and worries go down, I don't really think Allie would hurt Brian in any way..

4/5. Oh I just squealed with excitement when the relationship started (mind you I'm a 21yo bearded male.) and would love to see how they treat their urges with their size difference, and would especially love to see how it would go if Brian returned to normal size

6.  I've come to hate the SPAR. I absolutely love stories on this site about cruel giantesses killing people for fun and pleasure but goddammit something about people making a job out of it and making money out of it just sickens me so fucking much. I stan this mentor, hopefully the SPAR gets thrown out the window and with it everyone involved. After all we all know that killing shrinkies for fun and not money is a much more fun way to live.. ;)

7. BRIAN IS INNOCENT and I want someone to pay for his false accusations... but i doubt that'll happen!

8. I'll go re-read the previous chapters but WHAT WAS ON THE FLOOR IN ALLIE'S PICTURE?!?

 

That's it.. my longest review yet! Hope it doesn't bore you to death lol. If you ever do decide to do a spinoff or "next book" as you put it, or even an epilogue that takes place in the distant future I'm sure we'd all love to see that, if not, I guess we'll have to be satisfied with what we've been given!

If it isn't too much to ask, as usual I would love your opinion on my comments/ideas/speculations (Yeah... I like my closure a lot xD )

 

All in all from me this story gets a solid 11/10! I really liked it and I'm glad I didn't find it earlier cause I would hate to wait for all the chapters to come out one by one..! although you did a brilliant job delivering them quickly one after the other!

Here's to hoping there's some sort of continuation!

- Peter AKA Hozanga.

 

 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review! I really appreciate that you decided to keep reviewing until the end. I love your detailed thoughts. I'm happy to go through your points, I hope I answer everything!

1) I'm glad to hear that you enjoy how Allison quit being a Chevalier! That was definitely one of the main ways in which I wanted this story to end. It's kinda like the two end points I wanted each character to reach are: Allison quits her job, and Brian learns to open up regarding his trauma.

2) It's not necessarily one or the other, but I envisioned Cathy as addicted to the sadistic aspects of the job. Her belief in the SP is something she tells herself in order to justify her addiction. I thought this would be more interesting than her being fanatical about the SP. Also, this means that in a potential future where Allison and Brian are fighting against the SP, it's not entirely clear if Cathy would end up as an enemy or ally. I hope that answers your question!

3/4) I'm happy that you liked how Allison and Brian ended up together! Their relationship was what I wanted to focus on. So, if there ever is an epilogue or something, you can be sure that it will remain a focus!

5) I totally see your point about the permanent aspect of the SP. I'll keep that in mind if I decide to do that kind of ending! 

6) Yes, there definitely is something gross about turning misery and punishment into profit. This is kinda sorta maybe almost me making a statement about for-profit prisons (wink wink).

7) For sure, *if* the mentor is the one who got Allison the job, she's definitely not a completely moral character. Even if it was with the intent to ultimately take down the SP, it still means she was willing to put Allison through the mental wringer to do it. Regardless, I'm glad you stan her!

8) This is probably on me, I should have written it better. Obviously the picture was a fake of Brian's remains after being crushed, and what was on the floor was just meant to be convincing fake. Whether they did it with makeup, ketchup, computer effects, that was a moment where as the author I just wanted to lampshade how they actually did it a bit. The point is that they somehow managed to fake his remains. As a sidenote, when Cathy notes that the picture 'looks impressive,' that's actually her hinting that she knows that the picture is fake. She's not saying that Allison was impressive, she's saying that the picture was impressively faked! Good thing Allison didn't notice.

Thank you so much for the long review! I love them, so no worries. I'm overjoyed to see your rating!! It means a lot, and thank you for reading my story!!!

-Pluto

Reviewer: Joker592 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 09 2021 7:24 AM Title: The Path

I think you should add an extended ending where Brian's innocence is revealed then leads to revealing thousands of convict to be innocent mixed with the guilty and Cathy wails like a baby and gets shamed by public and gets suicidal thoughts of her being a sadist about killing men she didn't know were innocent. Brian and the girl tell her to not go through with it and the authorities promise to do better. If you don't want to do a second book then it's okay since I think you might have other ideas in your brilliant head or might be busier. However, do you what you feel might be right to you.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review! An extended ending or epilogue is definitely possible, since people seem to want it so much. I can't say for sure though. Regardless, I'm really happy that you enjoyed the story!

-Pluto

Reviewer: Exosaur Signed [Report This]
Date: January 08 2021 6:42 PM Title: The Damage

I really love the psychology of the characters, in my opinion is one of the stronger points in the story, the relationship of Brian and Allison is also so lovely! 



Author's Response:

I'm glad to hear that! I definitely tried to make those things the focus of the story, so I'm glad you're enjoying them! Thank you for reading.

-Pluto

You must login (register) to review.