Reviews For Borrowing a Bite
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Birdxofxhermes917 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 30 2022 7:59 AM Title: Chapter 1: Unlikely Friends

Brilliant story, who knew I needed a vamp/borrower relationship. I love the characters and the way they interact. The use of vamp actions like breaking the wall, or just always knowing where Leo is were skillfully used to foster immersion.


The fight with green and the banter between him and vela was fantastic. Loved how they were both civil while acting in ways that they must, cant wait for him to show back up. 

As always looking for the next chapter, keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Birdxofxhermes917 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 30 2022 7:59 AM Title: Chapter 1: Unlikely Friends

Brilliant story, who knew I needed a vamp/borrower relationship. I love the characters and the way they interact. The use of vamp actions like breaking the wall, or just always knowing where Leo is were skillfully used to foster immersion.


The fight with green and the banter between him and vela was fantastic. Loved how they were both civil while acting in ways that they must, cant wait for him to show back up. 

As always looking for the next chapter, keep up the good work!

Reviewer: manaby Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: March 11 2022 10:00 PM Title: Chapter 13: A Day Worth Naming

A very interesting story so far. A bit long winded at the end, but still very good.

I just hope that we don't have to wait very long for a performance

Reviewer: MicroThaumaturge Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 12 2022 5:04 AM Title: Chapter 1: Unlikely Friends

I have been a long-time lurker, but I finally created an account to say that I absolutely love this story.  I've read through from Chapter 1 several times, (though I admit I come back and cherry pick the more sensual scenes when the mood strikes me) but from start to finish, there are a few things that strike me with every reading session. 

Even after I-don't-know-how-many re-reads, I cannot get over is how sensual this story is.  You constantly engage the imagination with details for all 5 senses, and frame the sensations in a way that the reader constantly desires to experience more.  I also enjoy how you maintain tension throughout the story; you use little things like the townspeople leaving and Vela's need to react for survival, or the build-up to discovering Leo through the wall, to keep the reader engaged - and then you build the tension into something sexual.  Finally come the scenes that bring many of us here, and your pacing and detail in the height of passion does not disappoint.

I suppose rather than waxing rhapsodic, I should cut to the chase and say that I find the story and characters engaging, appealing, and, well, quite sensual.  I've long held oral vore at arm's length, as something deeply alluring, but with too much danger and all too oft holding the promise of tragedy at the end, but the soft, relatively safe vore you portray has made me a convert.  That being said, if you wish to continue with the vaginal insertion scenes, I will be here eagerly awaiting them.

I very much look forward to the next chapter of this story.  Please keep writing, for we will definitely be here to partake of the fruit of your efforts.  And, most importantly, Thank You for all you have written thus far.



Author's Response:

Right off the bat: thank you SO much for this glowing review, Iím sorry it took me so long to respond. But I read it the day you posted it, and I have to tell you how much it meant to me on that day in particular to get feedback like this. I needed it then! Iím glad I have the bandwidth to reply to you now. 

Just hearing that someone chooses one of my stories of all the ones around to give repeated reads does wonderful things to the dopamine levels, let me tell you. And especially when you go on to say that youíre not always into this sort of thing for the vore, and thatís the crux of what appears to be your favorite chapteróIím very touched. 


I will surely be continuing this story as soon as Iíve got the mental bits to spare for it, and trust me, your favorite tag is a close second for me. Thereís always gonna be more of that. 


Than you so much for taking the trouble to make an account to tell me you dig my work. Itís so considerate. Itís folks like you that make this satisfying. <3 


Reviewer: Simpson3k Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: January 10 2022 1:32 PM Title: Chapter 13: A Day Worth Naming

I found the story very intresstring and promissing at the beginning but i think you introduced additional charackters to fast to the pool of interaction. And before Leo could the first time interact with Velaīs bottom wich was implied by both several times, she leaves and suddenly its all about sleeping in a snakebelly. At the momet i am not as curious how it continuies as i was at the first chapters as there where only Leo and Vela. But perhaps youīll make it in the end or not *shrugs*



Author's Response:

Thank you for your feedback! Iím glad I had your good favor for at least a portion of this story, even if I end up sort of losing you later. The story wonít linger on the nagas much longer, though Iíll admit Iíve been hung up on them a while. If you were looking for some ďbuttĒ stuff, might I direct your attention to a little ways through chapter 10, ďdetour,Ē or is that not quite what you had in mind? Lol. 


In any case. Thank you for reading and reviewing! Maybe Iíll recapture your love with later chapters. 

Reviewer: hqlord Signed [Report This]
Date: December 01 2021 11:56 AM Title: Chapter 13: A Day Worth Naming

Just read it all in one sitting. LOVED it! Not so much into vore but it was very well written :).



Author's Response:

I quite love getting reviews like that. I guess itís lucky that, though this is definitely a vore story, smut only accounts for a little less than half the chapters, and vore isnít the only box I check in them. Lol. I thank you dearly for the compliment to my writing. Iím just here to have fun and share whatís in my head! 

Reviewer: k0ltonimo224 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 05 2021 1:09 PM Title: Chapter 13: A Day Worth Naming

Keep coming back to this. Hope there’s more eventually :)



Author's Response:

There will be, I promise! My brain wasnít up to writing for a while, so Iíve been just letting my hands do art instead of focusing on narratives. But Iím feeling the itch begin to returnÖ 

Reviewer: bartek21 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 13 2021 6:42 PM Title: Chapter 13: A Day Worth Naming

WOW! I really like this chapter. I am very curious what will happen next.
I missed your writing a lot.
Hehe, I guess I'm addicted to this story. ;)



Author's Response:

Thanks a lot, Bartek. As always, I appreciate your enthusiastic feedback both her and on other platforms. <3

Reviewer: k0ltonimo224 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 28 2021 2:51 AM Title: Chapter 12: A Brief Review

What a fantastic series! It's impossible to not love all the characters, and the rhythm and balance between advancing the plot, developing the characters, and delivering some steamy chapters is immaculate. Looking forward to more!

 



Author's Response:

Thanks a ton for that review! It's difficult to strike just the right balance of smut and story to make sure you're actually invested in the characters enough that their romantic trysts are compelling, but so you're also entertained by smut if that's what you're primarily here for! So I'm really glad to hear you approve of the execution. 

No need to wait! Just posted a monster of a chapter! 

Reviewer: foreignkanto Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05 2021 11:46 AM Title: Chapter 12: A Brief Review

Really glad this story is backed. Been missing it.



Author's Response:

Thanks! Equally glad to see you back in the reviews! I've got a lot on my plate right now, but I'm already started on the next chapter! 



Author's Response:

Thanks! Equally glad to see you back in the reviews! I've got a lot on my plate right now, but I'm already started on the next chapter! 

Reviewer: Lupin Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: May 02 2021 1:18 AM Title: Chapter 12: A Brief Review

It's great to have you back! I kind of lost hope for a second there, so it's fantastic hear that you'll be continuing this.



Author's Response:

It always gets darkest before the dawn? Haha. Glad to dispel your concerns. I took the time necessary to organize how I'd like to make the story move to the original desired end and how to keep it interesting from where I left off. Now that the gears are turning again I should be able to keep from another big freeze! 

Thank you for your kind words!! 

Reviewer: Pluto Pendragon Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 01 2021 12:14 AM Title: Chapter 1: Unlikely Friends

What a wonderful story! I've enjoyed it a lot so far. You've got a lot of great stuff going for you~

-A fantastic writing style

-Adorably charming characters

-An interesting plot

-Great worldbuilding

More than anything else, though, I just always love to see a plot and character-driven gentle story, as it's by far my favorite type of story on this website. I hope you'll keep it up, as I'm looking forward to more! Take care.

-Pluto



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! Each of those bullets made me happier than the last! And I'll be honest: when I first set out to continue this story past chapter 1, I was a little worried it would be too much plot for people's taste and I'd bore everyone, but that is decidedly not the case! Turns our people enjoy relatable characters and dialog interacting in long form story arcs! (If anything, my characters are all probably about 15% too lewd?) And I personally thought there was a gap in the long-form, gentle, vore market, so I sought to address that. 

I couldn't help but notice you're not idle yourself in writing longer plot-based stories. I'll have to check them out! 

Thanks so much for the kind words, Pluto. I'm glad you've enjoyed the story so far. I hope to keep your interest! 

Reviewer: bartek21 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 30 2021 7:57 PM Title: Chapter 12: A Brief Review

Welcome back.I'm glad you're writing again.

I liked this chapter very much.

Please continue this amazing story.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Bartek! Good to be back! And a welcome back to you as well! It's always a pleasure getting feedback from you. I'm glad you liked the chapter. I'm already working on the next one slowly but surely!

Reviewer: Navar51 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 06 2021 1:59 PM Title: Chapter 1: Unlikely Friends

I read your story back when you published the first chapter, and loved it. I loved the premise, the excecution, and the characters. I read it, loved it, and moved on thinking it was finished. I was pleasantly suprised to see this story pop up as I scrolled, but with UPDATES.

Your worldbuilding is great (especially considering this is, at its core, a vore story), and your characters are charming, memorable, and realistic. Well, not the whole fantastical creatures part, but the believable emotions and characteristics. Vela and Leo play off one-another and make an adorable pair that I love to read. Jackie is cute and the Naga scare me (remorseless murder-by-vore (Though, I guess I just dislike that stuff in general)). The different takes and renditions of classic monsters are refreshing too.

You don't let the story devolve into endless smut or fetish material, which is nice, and you also avoid layering too much non-sexytimes into the plot all at once. You struck a decent balance.

I hope to see this story update as the year trudges along, but I also hope you only return to it when you're ready to write. I know what you mean about writing burnout (I lost most of January writing waaaay too much), and it ain't a joke. 

5 Stars, 10/10: One of the best stories on this site.



Author's Response:

I don't think I can fully convey how gratifying it was to have started my day with this review (yesterday, that is, but I didn't have time to respond properly). Seriously. I could feel your sincere enthusiasm bleeding through every word. It felt really good, and especially since I haven't updated this story in six months and am therefore never expecting continued feedback, this surprise dose of praise was extremely welcome! 

The world building came somewhat easily because I had already laid some foundations in another, as of yet unpublished story in the same universe. When I stalled on that, and my mind turned to this one-off vampire vore story I had always wanted to write, and people liked it enough that I wanted to continue it, it was "easy" to just think to myself, "her world is in that one too," and proceed. We'll see if I can't keep it all straight!

But you're right. This is primarily "just a vore story." And vore (soft, preferably willing and nonfatal) is my primary kink associated with size stuff. So, how many times and in how many ways can I do it so as to keep it fresh and sexy before it turns dull and repetitive for the characters AND for me? Hence the tough balance with plot and smut. But I also don't want to go TOO long between sexy stuff. What're most of us here for? In any case. It is a tough balance that I struggled with the whole time writing this so far. So I appreciate your kind words regarding that. Thank you! And also thanks for appreciating my own little twists on tired tropes. Wanted every species to have just a little of my original take. 

In any case. I, too, hope to return to this story soon. I've been thinking a lot about the next chapters and remaining plot/character arcs. If I'm being honest, it wasn't plot that burned me out, but a struggle to maintain fresh originality when writing the sexy stuff! I just want to make sure when I write the remaining chapters, they're planned out well and hit hard. And also that I'm not tired or lazy when I write them. (Sorry about your January! Reminds me of college!)

 

Anyway. The content of your review is five stars. Your words all mean a lot to me! One of the happiest I've gotten on this site! Thank you! 

Reviewer: brett533 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 12 2021 6:43 PM Title: Chapter 1: Unlikely Friends

what happened to streamlined?



Author's Response:

Felt the need to strike it for personal reasons. Feel free to DM me for it. 

Reviewer: m3m31 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 20 2020 10:12 AM Title: Chapter 1: Unlikely Friends

Made an account just to say I love it, please continue with it



Author's Response:

That's extremely flattering! And I will assure you like the others: I do not intend to abandon the story. I just needed a break because I wrote too much far too quickly, and was losing enthusiasm. 

Thank you for the kind words and rating! 

-Xiao 

Reviewer: Firedemon3210 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 08 2020 11:49 PM Title: Chapter 11: Departure

I have really been enjoying this series and have been eagerly awaiting the next chapter. I really hope that it hasn't been abandoned and is just on a temporary hiatus. That said if it is permanently dropped then I had fun reading it and will remember it fondly!



Author's Response:

Hey! Thanks so much for checking in and for the continued feedback! You were the second person to leave a review. So, it's really nice to know that I held your attention the whole way so far! 

 

I say, "so far," because I am not abandoning this story. But it is on a longer hiatus than I had planned. I just wrote too much too fast and felt a little burnt out about it, and didn't want to force any more material until I felt inspired to write more. At the very least, I'll come up with a good place to end it. 

 

Thanks for checking in! 

Xiao 

Reviewer: Jimbob Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 16 2020 9:13 PM Title: Chapter 11: Departure

Been a few chapters since I've left a review, but I've enjoyed everything so far. Your world building is top notch. You've taken some unique and interesting takes on some of these fantasy creatures that is proving quite entertaining.

Polite and almost overly friendly naga who seem to view it as a great privelage to act as a host. This has led to some amusing interactions so far.

Werewolves only being hostile towards humans is interesting too, and definitely points to an intelligent design behind the disease.

I think vampires being their own species is a great take as well. They also have an interesting life cycle. Starting out soft, warm, and alive, then getting gradually colder, deader, and denser as they age. Now I'm left wondering if the physical reaction by Vela's body to Leo's presence is is a normal reaction between borrowers and vampires, or if there's something special happening with those two. Definitely looking forward to what the elder has to say.



Author's Response:

Hey! Thanks for dropping back in! You certainly don't have to review every chapter. Haha! Though I wouldn't complain. I love getting feedback, and responding to these reviews is really engaging. 

And thank you so much! I consider the world building I've done to be pretty light work, but I just feel that if you're going to recycle tired fantasy species, the least you can do is give them all a bit of an imaginative spin so as to keep things feeling fresh. I guess I just didn't want a reader to be able to pop in and already know everything about Vela based on the title, 'vampire,' alone. I wanted to make being a vampire/borrower/wear wolf/naga etc. something the reader would have to learn about as they went along, while still adhering to a few, concrete pieces of each species that I think define them. 

And ohhh, the guessing game. I've been really entertained by the guesses I've seen present in these reviews. It's a mixture of thrill and frustration whenever one of you gets something right, or close to it. Just shows that I'm foreshadowing effectively, I suppose, which is a tough mechanism with which to strike an appropriate balance when you aren't even really keeping notes and only have the outline of the story in your head. 

All I'll say regarding your speculation is, "not bad," but I guess you'll just have to wait and see! I'm sorry I haven't produced anything new this week, but writing 65k words in less than a month is a little rough, and I needed to step away from the medium for a bit to allow my brain and enthusiasm a chance to catch up wirh my hands. And this gives everyone else a chance to catch up with what I've written as well. 

 

As always, love reading your reviews! So thanks a lot for taking the time to make them! 

Adieu!

 

Reviewer: max21 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 14 2020 8:37 PM Title: Chapter 1: Unlikely Friends

Great story. please continue. I'm curious leo stuck in the womb (jackie, vela);)?

my english is terrible:(



Author's Response:

Thank you for your feedback! I certainly don't mind your English, it's good enough! And while I am a fan of deep insertion to the point of womb exploration in concept, I'm not sure I'll be going that way in this particular story. But I definitely won't count it out completely; I'll do it if it feels natural. I do want to work some more tags and scenarios in...  

And don't worry. I think I'm far from finished with this story. 

 

Thanks again! 

Reviewer: Pixis Signed [Report This]
Date: September 14 2020 6:37 AM Title: Chapter 11: Departure

Not a fan of the full tour theme so that chapter didn't do much for me. No offense. But I'm intrigued by the changes to Vela's anatomy. It seems like her body is coming to life again. I'm curious to learn more about that. Your version of vampires are born and apparently become undead over time but evidently, the process can be reversed? I also enjoyed the nagas and their very formal, flattery based language. They're an interesting addition to this fantasy world.



Author's Response:

Well, one person's big yes is another person's big nope with these things, so I understand that, and as one of my frequent reviewers, I really appreciate the feedback. I can say that, while I'm a fan of it myself, it's not a mechanism I plan to use often, as it's rather inconvenient for the characters in terms of being "in play" or not. But I'll be sure to mark any other chapters with full-tour if they come along so you can proceed with your own judgment. And no offense taken!

I'm glad that even though you don't appreciate the theme, you still enjoyed my justification for it in terms of story building. Part of the fun of this story so far has been that, for the most part, I've been able to tie in things like vore and even full tour to the story. 

The mysterious effect Leo has on Vela's physiology does seem to be pointing to that possibility! 

And I'm glad you like the nagas. I was hesitant to introduce them, but I think they've provided an interesting element both in terms of story and smut. 

Thanks for all the feedback! 

You must login (register) to review.