You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: October 11 2018 11:12 AM Title: Chapter 17: A Knight In Shining Armour

Sorry, I forgot to even read this story last week because I was so busy. An even now I don't have much to say!

Maxine barely made it out alive. Maybe she does need that strength potion, or use an entire castle as armor.

But she made it out alive, which is a huge feat. I hope she isn't permanently damaged by this. A pity Charles couldn't help more and also I hope he survives her family.

Will this be the end of this story? Will there be a fun chapter?

Also, thanks for writing!



Author's Response:

Yeah, Maxine is one tough cookie. Looks like all those years of ploughing in the fields really paid off. Charles better be ready for her family, it will be something that he will never forgot.

Reviewer: Slacker28 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 03 2018 5:53 AM Title: Chapter 1: Pilot

Looks like an interesting story, please let me know if you ever consider laking up Matt and Alba again.



Author's Response:

It seems that the series is going well so far.

 

Yeah, I'll bring it back eventually.

Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 29 2018 2:44 PM Title: Chapter 15: Kidnapping!

Pity to see killings and kidnappings in this story. But that's also partly the majors fault. He should have hired Sammy to do the job, because bigger is better. But on the other hand, Sammy would require the major to buy a lot more beer.

I hope leaving Charles behind doesn't mean that he has to be in harms way, but that he can finally be a great help. I don't think a tired Maxine can single handedly beat that bandit camp to a pulp.

Also, thank you for writing!



Author's Response:

Probably more than he could have afforded

 

Well maybe he can impress her and she does have Gregory with her

Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 23 2018 3:11 PM Title: Chapter 14: Competition

Finally Maxine gets some simple comforts. I'm really glad you didn't portray Maxine as miserable but have her at least this. It was also a fun little adventure to read.

It's a pity she can't get the bandits to come.out using a barrel of beer. Then she wouldn't have so much work to do.

Also, thanks for writing!



Author's Response:

Well she can be miserable sometimes, but that would probably not work out.

 

But she wouldn't want to give up a barrel of beer.

 

You're welcome.

Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 14 2018 1:06 PM Title: Chapter 13: Do Not Disturb

I'm late. I was so lazy and postponing my review that there is an entire new chapter.

And in response to you previous review, I must say that I completely trust you!

That little girl owns that entire city basically, and they couldn't even beat her without the help of Maxine. How lazy is that town? It almost looks like some kind of joke. They continuously don't take Maxine seriously because she's a girl and at the same time cannot even handle that little girl, let a lone an angry Maxine.

I wonder why she doesn't exploit this conservative medievel-like world more. She could easily get more free Ale if she just enters a drinking competition and beats everyone by drinking more than the rest combined. That would be something!

Also, I really think she could use that strength potion, then she can run a bit faster with her heavy armour.

Also, thanks for writing, and hopefully see you next wednesday!



Author's Response:

Thanks for the vote of confidence.

Well she could be quite secretive and maybe these were just lower end thugs that she was using rather than genuine threats. 

 

There probably aren't too many such competitions but if she found any she would enter them. Especially pie eating contests, a stronger Maxine is a very scary Maxine.

Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 30 2018 1:48 PM Title: Chapter 11: Patrol

Angleland, what a ghetto. You can't even trust the little girls there. At least somebody proposed to simply move away from this hellhole. But at least they have Maxine to protect them now.

If only Maxine was a little bigger, she could keep up with the bandits and could gather some more respect because the horses would have trouble keeping up with her ;) yes, I'm at it again

 

On a more serious note, this plot about the bandits is getting interrinter. I wonder what the role of the little girl is.

Also, thank you for writing!



Author's Response:

You can't really trust anyone, even me. Maxine does wish that she could grow much like her mother and sisters. 

 

You'll find out her role soon.

Reviewer: BoozedUp Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 23 2018 8:09 PM Title: Chapter 1: Pilot

Finally something thats above 8th grade reading level, isn't shrink or too short. I just wanted to say I quite enjoy this one, although I skimmed through the original which I do not enjoy as much (magic spontaneous willed growth is not my thing).

One question though, are the tags final? As in, will something new pop up later? Will there be growth of the heroine? Considering the canon of the story, and small (maybe unintentional) allude to it in one chapter it seems like there should be. In any case, cheers!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading.

 

No the tags aren't final. It's just what's seen in the story so far. Others will be added where need be

Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 16 2018 3:44 PM Title: Chapter 9: Brees

Maybe Chrissie should hug some sense into Laurence. Seems like he isn't really a nice person. Oh, talking about hugging monsters, have you seen "Princess slayer" by Jacksmith? That princess reminds me of Chrissie, but then really monster sized.

Well, at least the Inn lady was nice enough to bake her a free Pie, a bit of a pity  that our friendly accountant didn't get to taste it. Well, at least I hope he can get some money together for some more beer ale.

Thank you for writing! Until next wednesday!



Author's Response:

No I haven't seen it, I might check it out.


Most likely it would be a discounted price since Maxine provided the meat. Charles can get the money but there isn't all that much of it

Reviewer: imagin8 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 25 2018 8:34 PM Title: Chapter 1: Pilot

I'm gonna give my most enthusiastic and heartfelt encouragement towards a continuation of this one-shot. I was a massive fan of the original BFG: Angleland, in no small part due to the fantastic bond between the towering Jessica and the courageous Tucker, and their various trials and tribulations. Not only is this pilot an intriguing development many years down the line, but it involves a protagonist who can very definitely shed some light on what happened between J&T ( by virtue of existing, most notably), and could easily stand on its own as a different kind of narrative set in a world that's already established, well-rounded and full of life.

If we're going down a completely selfish route btw; any story that showcases a 9-foot tall, intimidating red-haired girl who seems quite stern, but hints at being secretly quite fair and nice, has my whole-hearted seal of approval on multiple levels, especially when said girl is paired with a relatively small male companion who is both wary of, and beguiled by her. It's a recipe that I think is set up extremely well for your particular brand of adventure, companionship and fairytale drama, and I really hope you plan to write more - there's a decent chance it could become my favourite story of yours by some margin... no pressure though!



Author's Response:

Hopefully it'll live up to your expectations when I get around to writing the rest of it.

Reviewer: lancealot501 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 19 2018 4:42 PM Title: Chapter 1: Pilot

Really like the start up chapter to this story. We seem to have some interesting characters to read about. Are we going to be seeing the return of old characters like the demigodess, nicole, the queen, etc?

Author's Response:

Some old characters will pop up but obviously they will be older. I'm glad that you liked the pilot

You must login (register) to review.