Reviews For Mediation
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: DansterBoy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 14 2018 8:20 AM Title: Ultimatum

I remember when I first tried reading this story a while back and for some reason it didn't quite appeal to me (then again, I only read the first half of the first chapter). 4 days ago, while I'm on vacation, I see an update too it. So, I decided to give it another shot and a more appropriate one then I did when I first tried it. In just little over a day, I finished all 25 chapters. I must say, this
is the greatest giantess story I have ever read.

Each character is unique. As mentioned previously in another review, they all
have distinctive personalities that have been developed excellently. The way we move from one character to the next prevents the story from sitting on one too long and getting stale. I like how while Marcelle can be very mean, but we see some humanity slip here and there. Especially when she begins to worry about Ingrid holding Tanner while she's drunk, or how she comments she's not a murderer. Or a bit of vice versa with Ingrid, with how she's depicted at first as a humane, loving sister who doesn't mind taking care of Tanner but some darkness slips when she's drunk, saying how she wants to squish Tanner. Then you have the whole flash back with her nearly killing him by suffocating him.

Which brings me to my next point, the story telling is excellent. Whenever I read these stories, I believe in the multiverse theory, thus what is happening is actually true, somewhere... It makes it more realistic to me. The way you constructed Tanner's dream with being big at first, but then shrinking and getting killed was fantastic. Really shows his physiological side especially after his mother said he wasn't normal which even stunned me (I really don't like political correctness, he's not actually normal, but it still struck a
note with me when she said that! Most maternal figures wouldn't do that which, again, makes her a unique one). I didn't expect you to make the dream work out,from any other story I have read it's usually a humongous exaggeration with cringe. But not this one, I actually felt his pain and then relief that he stopped at 3.5 inches. I can actually envision him jerking awake, its like a movie inside my head!

Also, I love it how you didn't provide any quick conclusion to what happened to Ingrid after she dropped him. How she doesn't say goodbye or apologize to Tanner before he leaves, or how we get a detail about how Tanner saw Marcelle helping Ingrid off the floor after she dropped him, barely moving meaning she passed out. We don't get her reaction, nothing is given and it creates a perfect cliff hanger to see their next interaction.

Finally, the confrontation with Ingrid after it. It was a nice emotional outburst from both parties, and it creates some tension about how Ingrid knows about Tanner's love for her but she doesn't feel the same way. I fantasized an alternative pathway
where Tanner took a more heavy approach with her. Instead, he would be making eye contact with her while she avoids it saying something like "I understand, it's not very easy to look into someone's eyes after you have almost murdered them twice." Or during the drunk rant Ingrid was giving him, how he may of said something like
"...but there is one thing I have that you never will, your own mother's love." Of course, I wouldn't expect that from him since he loves Ingrid. Also the fact that pissing off a drunk giantess wouldn't of been the best idea, I only wonder what her
reaction might of been in both senarios anyways... kind of a "You felt your sins crawling on your back moment..." or perhaps I'm just going off too big of a tangent :-).

All in all, this story strongly reminds me of the "Family is All" scene in breaking bad. Maybe not as intense, but a love with hate kind of thing, y'know?

Man, I just talk too much don't I?

I just really want to say is that you are a very talented writer. If you were to sell this as a book I would buy it. A great piece of work you constructed and I don't think any other literature in years will compete with what I just read. Then again, I do nothing but read fetish stories.

I would add this too my favourites but in order to do so for some reason I have to use the "tinyMCE" system which doesn't allow me to copy and paste. I have this review saved in a file because when I tried to retype it out in order to favourite the story it then told me I'm not authorized to post a review. Weird. I guess I'll wait until the next chapter!

Nice work, 10/10. I have high expectations for this.

Author's Response:

Wow, I appreciate that a lot. It's weird to hear praise like that since understandably I get critical of my own work and think back on chapters thinking of alternatives that may have been better, scenes, or dialogue I could've included.


The character line up is an area I'm really happy with and am glad several people ended up. Initially I envisioned the cast hardly going beyond the main trio of Tanner, Ingrid, and Ivory; but figured that would get very monotonous thus came Marcelle and Blake. Later on expanding on Blake's family with  Abel, Blair, and Gail. 


Marcelle particularly, represents for me to an extent the darker aspect to how I think a regular sized person would treat someone who Tanner's size. While I do think most people would at least try to be nice and considerate, Marcelle represents the more apathetic side. While she still recognizes his humanity to the point where she wouldn't kill him in cold blood, she does not see him as someone she needs to treat as an equal.
Funny thing you mention the multi-verse theory, since the whole setup with an intoxicated Ingrid harming Tanner was a scene I had planned long in advance, however in it's initial conception it was going to be Marcelle approaching Tanner and getting him drunk. Then following that Ingrid would appear and Tanner would confess his feelings in a... not so charming manner. Marcelle would then hide her alcohol in Ingrid's room for when the inevitable subject of where he gained access to alcohol occurred. I think I could've gotten some good mileage out of that, but trying  to conceptualize the aftermath where I intended to still have Tanner in the household with an obvious awkward tension with Ingrid wasn't coming together as I wanted. I'm happy with the route I went since it gave me reason to have more chapters with Blake and Gail who are both enjoyable to write.


Tanner's emotional outburst was another scene that was long planned in advance to give him a chance for an unrestricted vent and later evolved to give Ingrid a chance to let her grievances out too and foreshadow an upcoming conflict, that's been strongly hinted in Ingrid's flashbacks regarding her relationship to Ivory.


"...but there is one thing I have that you never will, your own mother's love." LOL. OUCH. Now I don't know if Ingrid would break into tears on the spot or punt Tanner across the floor with a comment like that. 
Thank you for the review, stay tuned.

Reviewer: SpookyTaco Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 10 2018 6:59 AM Title: Ultimatum

Excellent chapter! I like how you handled Marcelle.



Author's Response:

Appreciate it, stay tuned.

Reviewer: Darien Fawkes Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 06 2018 10:33 AM Title: Mediation

I hope you're still with this story because I love it and really need to see what happens to everyone. Also commenting because I realized that I never rated your latest chapter. 10/10



Author's Response:

Sorry for the long delay, a combination of writers block, wanting to pay some focus to other works in progress, and interning over the Summer left me wanting to take a break from this story for a while.

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: April 02 2018 10:53 AM Title: Date Night

I hope everyone ends up happy.

Reviewer: Darien Fawkes Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 02 2018 9:29 AM Title: Date Night

That was a pretty satisfying chapter. My only complaint is that I think the big blow out between the two of them was too short. You know how to write convincing emotional dialouge between characters, so I was hoping that would go on a little longer. Just to make sure both Tanner and Ingrid were able to communicate everything they had been mulling over the past few days. I can't even say that's a complaint though.

Once again the relationship between the brother and sister is my favorite aspect of this story. It's very real, so congratulate yourself on pulling that off. Now all that I need to see is for Marcelle to be delt with. Preferably by Ingrid, who is capable of physically throwing her out of the house (or Blake, since she's even bigger). However, I'm sure whatever you have planned for that situation will be more than adequate for the story, so I leave all of that in your hands. I look forward to seeing this continued.



Author's Response:


Thanks for the comment, I admit to that being shortcoming (no pun intended) I try to juggle.  I don't like feeling as if I'm padding at a story with filler; I typically try to stop once I think a message has been properly conveyed. However it's also tricky when I'm typing out the chapter in a word document and it seems longer to me because I'm the one writing it, plus the formatting of the document, etc. Then it doesn't always translate when I paste it here for posting and for other readers who share the same opinion as you do.
I'll keep it in mind for the next major hallmark coming soon, which as you referenced will be trying to shut down Marcelle. I've written some rough drafts on what will occur now that it's closer on the horizon I'll work out the finer details with what you said in mind.

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: April 02 2018 6:56 AM Title: Mediation

Great therapy chapter, though, there are still some problems the characters face. 1. Tanner's love is still unrequited, and Ingrid being in his life indefinitely can't help the pain of rejection and uncomfortable moments that will inevitably follow I'd imagine (I'm having trouble dealing with it myself honestly, the thought of Ingrid with some other random guy just doesnt sit well with me... yuck). 2nd and 3rd, Marcelle and Ivory are still problems, someone has to call them out on their shit, Marcelle's abuse and generally sociopathy, and Ivory's disturbingly controlling helicopitor parenting (which hits home for me because my mom has issues too *shudders* )

 

All in all, this situation is still depressing, Ingrid seems like she'll be unintentionaly torturing Tanner's psyche by being in his life despite her having her own future and Tanner realistically being forced to stare at a carrot in front of his nose indefinitely, Marcelle being really, really disgusting to the point of me wanting to almost skip chapters she is featured in, and Ivory, who has a lot of her own issues that she seems to be forcing on her children, which is so, so fucked up.



Author's Response:

They are from being clear of the woods, both of them recognized that there isn't some be all end all solution. It won't be easy moving forward for Tanner, but at the very least he's reconciled with Ingrid. Which moving forward brings Tanner having to deal with the next problem in his life, Marcelle (her role in the story is almost at a close). Ivory... that's a whole nother can of worms.

 

Reviewer: SpookyTaco Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: March 29 2018 1:28 PM Title: The Band Aid

I normally hate flashbacks, but I quite enjoyed this one.

I'm also much more of a 'gentle' fan, but thorougly enjoyed the honesty here.

Actually I didn't see it as 'cruel', per say. Certainly not premeditated 'evil'.

Ingrid has a conscience and it led her to, eventually, do the right thing.

Can't wait for the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Honestly, I was apprehensive about making Ingrid's flashback the majority of the chapter. I  initially considered having the chapter being about Tanner come home first and his reunion with Ingrid happening in about 2 more chapters. As I attempted to outline and write it, things just felt like they were dragging and I would've been writing a whole lot of filler, whereas Ingrid's flashback had purpose for establishing more of her relationship with Tanner (This one was actually supposed to come a little later).


Thanks for the review. Ever since I've conceived the falling out between the stepsiblings, I've outlined how I wanted there reunion to take place. Next chapter won't be a long wait.

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: March 29 2018 10:57 AM Title: Date Night

Thank you for being so understanding. I hate to judge others, I guess its just being human and inherently flawed that makes me hypocritical sometimes.

While I do try to prevent and/ or lessen the frequency of such occurances, I am still inevitably going to succumb to human frailties at some point or another.

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: March 29 2018 8:43 AM Title: The Band Aid

This chapter, along with chapters featuring Marcelle, perfectly show case the evil side of humanity to me. The side that picks the wings off of flies, simply because it can, or worse perhaps, because it enjoys it. Character's like Marcelle, and Ingrid's abuse toward Tanner are almost a complete summation of everything I dislike about the cruel side of macrophilia, and how disgusted I am with it. 

I really do prefer fantasies that make me feel like a human being, and don't make me lose faith in humanity by thinking about how the fuck people could possibly get off to such inhumane shit.

I try not to judge others, really, I do, but this side of macrophilia makes it really hard.

I hope there is a dichotomy in people's who get off to this' head's between fantasizing, and if they were actually given the ability to act out these fantasies...

 

I'm off my judgemental soap box. I hate that I feel so strongly over a fantasy. People should be able to imagine what they want.



Author's Response:

In my opinion, put in the simplest of terms people enjoy the domination aspect and being treated like they're lesser (which doesn't always have to be physical). Personally I never understood much the "Woman has tiny man she makes him a slave because...why not?" That just doesn't resonate with me from a story-telling standpoint unless you were writing a sociopathic character; nonethless it boils down to you just have to be into that sort of stuff to like it and I think most people can distinguish fantasy from reality.


As far as my story is concerned, I wanted to hit a variety of notes. In long stories, I get bored reading and writing stories that are too one-note whether it's predicated around gentleness, cruelty, or some other subfetish. I can understand you liking the gentler side more, but too much of it narrows down the options for tension. Despite there always having to be some suspension of disbelief to buy into fiction, I want there to be some semblance to the varieties of humanity and its complexities that exists in real life.


Ingrid who tries her best to accomodate and treat Tanner well, but aware she wasn't always kind to him. However, there's lingering bitterness of what she feels his inclusion to the family costed her. In her third reminiscence she recounts taking it out on Tanner and realized it was wrong of her.
Marcelle is different, since she wasn't in my initial drafts or outlines. I don't consider her the main antagonist, but an antagonist who stirs the pot a lot and sex up the story with behavior that would be out of character of Ingrid. I know a lot of it comes off as her being cruel and needling Tanner for the sake of it which he has questioned why she gets jollies off of messing with him so much in previous chapters. While it is partially true that she does it because she's a fairly mean spirited person, there is another reason that'll come to light within the next few chapters.


Don't sweat it though, you're entitled to your opinions and tastes. I won't lie and say that was the last 'cruel' chapter, but I assure you that's not the overall center of the story that  "Tanner is small everyone will be cruel to him just because."

Thanks for the comment

Reviewer: foreignkanto Signed [Report This]
Date: March 29 2018 6:21 AM Title: The Band Aid

Hey, great chapter. It was really interesting to find out that Ingrid used to be just as bad as Marcelle is now. It definitely adds another layer to their relationship. And now we come up to the moment I’ve been anticipating for so long, Ingrid and Tanner will finally get to talk it out. Next chapter will be very interesting indeed. I hope Julie leaves the two of them alone to talk.

Reviewer: nightedly Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: March 28 2018 11:00 PM Title: Date Night

I'm so glad you're still writing this story. This latest chapter is an excellent set up for the next chapter. I'm dying to see how the reunion pans out, keep up the great work!

Author's Response:

It was a long time coming, but next chapter will be quite a heart to heart between the two.

Reviewer: foreignkanto Signed [Report This]
Date: February 26 2018 7:39 AM Title: Last Hurrah

Great chapter. The part with the girls thinking he was a sex toy was hilarious. And I love how Gail saved him, but was super embarrassed at the same time. She works really well with Tanner, and I hope we haven’t seen the last of her. Though I’m also eager for Tanner and Ingrid to have a heart to heart.

Author's Response:

Thanks, as I began writing out the scenario I found it to be a funny development to have rather than him just trying to avoid them. Definitely not the end of Gail, she's one of my favorite additions to the story so there will be more of her to come.

Reviewer: Darien Fawkes Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 15 2018 11:14 AM Title: Date Night

So I've just finished binge reading your story, and I can't say enough about how how much I love it. You do the one thing that I love seeing on this site, and have been trying to do in all of my own stories. You focus on character development and plot over fetish material, while still sprinkling it in at just the right moments. And what's even better, you get the reader to empathise with the main character by having them see the world from his perspective. I love that most of all. I love writing about either giant women interacting with normal men, or regular women interacting with shrunken men, and having the women eventually come to see the men as respected equals instead of toys to play with. Not to mention so many of the characters are loveable for different reasons. Tanner is the strong one who takes all of life's difficulties in stride like a boss. Ingrid is the amazing sister who cares deeply for him and wants to protect him, and Blake is the loveable best friend who treats the shrunken man like a normal person (most of the time). I love seeing them interact, I love the emotion between them all, and I honestly cannot wait to see what happens when Ingrid and Tanner come face to face again.

I've now added this story to my favorites list, and will be checking for updates daily. And, even though I really hate asking this, if stories like this are some that you enjoy reading about, I'd like to invite you to check out my two completed stories: A New Perspective, and Whose Really the Bigger Person Here. In those stories I've tried to tackle similar themes. You've done a better job of it, in my opinion, though. Anyway, keep doing what you're doing. Cause it's great.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the well thought out review, I'm almost having a hard time believing I'm coming up on a year since I posted the first chapter. Grand scheme of things I think we're around the halfway mark. You and I both share the same viewpoint in regards to story telling on this site. Whether it's short piece, novel-esque, series of vignettes, etc. A story first and foremost needs to be a freaking story. That's one of the peeves that'll almost instantly tune me away from a story, when I get the sense that it's something that's haphazardly thrown together with little thought. Some of my favorite writers on the site have managed to blend story with erotica, such as Cayce, Jacksmith, etc.

With that minor tangent over I'm glad you appreciate how the characters are written. Quite a few of them evolved in ways I didn't have outlined in there initial conception and characters like Abigail or Marcelle were not in my initial thoughts either.

From the start though I was certain I didn't want the story to come off as mean spirited in the sense that everyone is out to devalue Tanner's life and treat him as a toy like you mentioned. While there is a niche for that and I enjoy it sometimes, a lot of times it simplifies characters too much into being one-note jackasses.  As noted in a previous chapter a major theme was Tanner trying to cope with living his life at his size and the people around him learning how to deal with his size as well. 

The next chapter will wrap up Tanner's arc with Blake's family. After that Ingrid and Tanner's first interaction will be coming very soon, where both parties have a lot to get off their chests to say the least. Stay tuned, thanks again for reading.

Reviewer: lilguyunderfoot Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 12 2018 9:42 AM Title: Siblingship

very good. i will rread the rest, for sure

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: January 29 2018 4:19 PM Title: Gail

Damn. I don't know how to feel, Gail seems like 1 in a million, but I empathize with Tanner about him not wanting to waste her time. Decisions like this could change someone's life dramtatically, for better or worse. So much pressure..



Author's Response:

There's definitely a lot of mutual ground between them and Tanner was more or less resolved that his life would be devoid of romantic relationships. Gail threw a monkey wrench in his thinking for sure.

Reviewer: smoki1020 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 29 2018 10:07 AM Title: Date Night

Come on Tanner man you reject the poor girl for nothing and you have to deal with her big sister!!!!!!!



Author's Response:

Tanner knows it's messed up and he probably shouldn't have feelings for his stepsister after what she did to him; the heart is a messed up thing. But, there will be more of Gail and Tanner in the future.

Reviewer: Kurogane335 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 29 2018 5:54 AM Title: Date Night

Excellent chapter, as always ! I wonder how Blake will be around Tanner now, after the realization of what que was doing to him dawned on her. I also hope that Gail won't give up on Tanner and manage to steal his heart



Author's Response:

 Hopefully they patch things up.  And they'll be on hold for now, but this won't be the last of Gail and Tanner

Reviewer: Firedemon3210 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 29 2018 3:46 AM Title: Gail

This was such an amazing chapter! I feel so bad for Gail and I love her as a character so I'm very interested to see how Tanner and her relationship develop after this. Keep up the good work!! X3



Author's Response:

Thanks, worry not. This won't be the  last of Tanner and Gail; but we have to soon get Tanner back to his regular environment.

Reviewer: Falconjudge Signed [Report This]
Date: January 24 2018 1:28 AM Title: Date Night

This is easily my favorite series on the site.  Excellent writing and engaging characters.  I've been checking for an update every day!
(any word on when the next chapter is coming out?)



Author's Response:

Chapter 20 is about 90% done, needs a few bells and whistles before it's complete. I'm not really the type to force myself to write when I don't feel like it, especially right now with my school semester in fruition. Before the month is over it'll be posted. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: foreignkanto Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 11 2018 1:54 PM Title: Consolation

Awesome. I’m loving the interaction with Abigail. She seemed like a cool character last chapter, and I was right, she is great. She’s really nice but unsure of herself, owing to how the rest of her family is always so physically superior. Her and Tanner are perfect foils for each other, both helping the other see their own positive qualities. They really mesh well together.

Anyway, keep up the good work!

Author's Response:

Appreciate it, Abigail was one of those characters who wasn't in my original thought process when thinking of the story. She came to mind when I started thinking about how Blake had a family of athletes and it'd be interesting to have Abigail be the black sheep who was the polar opposite of them, thus giving her some common ground with Tanner. More fun to come with them next chapter.

You must login (register) to review.