Reviews For A Charmed Life
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: randomwierdness Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06 2019 9:17 PM Title: Chapter 29

Don't mind me as I scream

AAAAAAA

Reviewer: Aliakbar Signed [Report This]
Date: December 23 2018 7:35 PM Title: Chapter 29

Super story muss



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Marcarth Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: December 22 2018 5:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

I remember this being one of the first stories I read on here, back when it was at about chapter 4

I was amazed when I saw that little "completed" tag on it and instantly jumped in where I left off. That was a fun two hours or so.

On the story itself, I found the storytelling, grammar and all that excellent, but I feel it could have done a little more in the erotic department. Still probably the best thing I've read on this site

 

Reviewer: Marcarth Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: December 22 2018 5:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

I remember this being one of the first stories I read on here, back when it was at about chapter 4

I was amazed when I saw that little "completed" tag on it and instantly jumped in where I left off. That was a fun two hours or so.

On the story itself, I found the storytelling, grammar and all that excellent, but I feel it could have done a little more in the erotic department. Still probably the best thing I've read on this site

 



Author's Response: I started off with big plans for lots of fetish and erotica in this story. However, as it developed, the story grew and became one that focused much more on Torís and Ericís relationship and Torís struggle. Iím glad you came back and read it! Itís flattering. ^.^

Reviewer: lord_ne Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: December 22 2018 10:43 AM Title: Chapter 1

What?! No! You can’t end it there! That’s such a cliffhanger. Another 4 or 5 chapters and everything would’ve been resolved.

Author's Response:

Ah but that's where book one ends! Stick around for book 2, coming out in 2019. ;) Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: NotSirk Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: December 22 2018 5:53 AM Title: Chapter 29

Ah, so the title "A Charmed Life" is like irony. I see. Well played. 

I really liked this story. Did it really take ten years to finish? I feel I've been reading it from the beginning was that ten years ago? How long have I been on this site?!

Love your detail work in this story. You really know a lot about horses, or have researched enough to appear like you know a lot about horses! Detail work like that really fleshes out the setting and it's something I'd like to know more about. Why do the giants seem more American expansionist western of the 1800's while humans seem like midieval europe? Maybe I'm just imagining that. It's cool I like it! 

The characters are really strong. Especially the relationship of the main two. Tor and Eric have such a wonderful and intimate friendship! I originally thought it was heading toward romance, but what has formed it delightful. I wouldn't hesitate to call her princeling a pet but it's also clear he's more than that to her. They've both changed each other and in some ways not for the better. The prince of chapter one might have been able to evade capture. Too many flapjacks and warm baths huh, prince boy? Soft! You can't afford to be soft on the frontier! 

Tor's brothers are well done too. Well at least the one's that matter. I honestly have trouble remembering anyone but Jason and Mick. Jason is delightfully slimey and entitled. I like that it doesn't just show in his personality but by the way he breeds his horses relying on his father's work. Mick is well....Mick. 

I'm kinda disappointed in Mick, and in Tor to be honest. She see's him with such contempt now as a spineless failure. (which he is) but I 'd argue she's failed him just as much as he failed her. They were both discriminated against for being children from a different mother. It feels like he took the brunt of that bullying. I kind of wonder what's been happening to Mick when we don't see him from Tor's perspective. This may be giving him too much credit, but I don't think he actually wanted to sign over his horses or even go on whatever that errand was. And Tor seemed too busy with her own horses and her rivalry with Jason to actually help him. Not everyone can be a tough, independent, cowgirl like her! Some people need help and Tor wasn't offering much. Just my hot take on that. I still have hope for Mick to redeem himself in part two. If he's not dead by then anyway. Tor's gone and even if she wasn't she's done with Mick. If Jason's still alive his anger's going toward someone.  

Great story. I feel the ending was a little abrupt, but I can understand that if you're planning a part 2! I look forward to it! :D



Author's Response: Yes, it really did take ten years! The first chapter of this story was published on DeviantArt in September 2008. I am so very flattered youíre reading my story! I started reading MAJOR/minor the other day. Itís very interesting. I adore Izzy so far. Yes, I do know a fair bit about horses and do thorough research when Iím not sure. As for the ending, I do know I needed to work on the flow but figured I would do that in the next round of edits. When it comes to Mick, Iíll look at fleshing out his side of the story where it fits. I do think he has a tale to tell but frequently gets drowned out by his stronger twin. Again, Iím so glad you enjoyed my story!

Reviewer: Saturn Knight Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: December 22 2018 4:02 AM Title: Chapter 29

Very nice story. Enjoyed it from start to finish and liked Tor's evolution throughout the tale. A bit of a cliffhanger ending, but I suppose that just gets me excited for the sequel you have planned.



Author's Response: Thanks! Iím so glad you enjoyed it. Hopefully the sequel wonít take ten years to write! Haha I learned a lot about writing and characters and such along the way so hopefully book 2 will be faster in coming. ;)

Reviewer: Joseph Micheal Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: December 17 2018 8:34 AM Title: Chapter 1

At first I had avoided reading the story simply because the sheer size of it intimidated me and I was more used to shorter stories that got to the action quickly. But when I finally did take the time to read out this story, wow, was it worth it. A nice long adventure, with a good build up, and when the smut finally does arrive it's absolutely amazing. I, for one, could read an entire saga on the lady with the northern schwa accent and her pet humans that she finds creative uses for. Great job, it's a good story and I'm looking forward to reading the ending. 



Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm posting the pentultimate chapter now. I'm so glad you're enjoying my work. And who knows? Maybe I will do more with Auntie June. ;) 

Reviewer: randomwierdness Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11 2018 11:33 PM Title: Chapter 26

I wanna punch Jason lol. This is a good story!!



Author's Response: Oh I think we all want to punch Jason. Thanks!

Reviewer: geeman Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: December 10 2018 6:36 PM Title: Chapter 26

Great stuff. I'm on the edge on my seat here, it seems like everyone has it out for poor Tor, no wonder she's such a stick in the mud, lol.

I will say something tho. Sometimes I forget this is a giantess story. It's probably the subject matter and there not being much size difference interaction but I think it's also the sort of non-chalant way things are "shown" if you get what I mean. Probably a writing style thing; most stories here make it a point even if there isn't any direct interaction between tiny/giant to write the scenes so certain camera or point of view descriptions remind the reader of the size thing... Anyway I'm still here along for the ride, just wanted to point out something i'd noticed.



Author's Response:

I understand. And probably when I go do editing, I'll include more things from Eric's point of view. However, it is difficult to get in his mind so to speak. He's such a ... weak character compared to Tor. He doesn't talk much. He's like that fat, lazy house cat that never does anything but is just *there.*

I will say this, in the sequal I have planned, he will be much more vocal...for reasons. :D I thank you so much from the bottom of my heart for reviewing and sticking with my story! Much love. <3 <3

 

Reviewer: geeman Signed [Report This]
Date: December 04 2018 5:00 AM Title: Chapter 24

Nice! I'm glad that you have this finished ahead of time.

Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 30 2018 12:31 AM Title: Chapter 23

When the lurkmeister updated his story for the first time in two years, I immediately thought about this story because it's such a good story and also hadn't been updated in a long time. Good to see that you are ok and that the writing life force hasn't been sucked out of you!

Also good to hear that you have a nice place and a better job. I'm assuming you are a native English speaker/teacher (I'm not, so I'll compare to how my native language teacher was viewed), so comparing that to my experience students can already have a prejudice that you suck before you have done something that deserves it/without resonr. I hope your new job will be much better.

And also, I'm forgetting to say something about the story itself. Tor buying the piece of land for Eric's benefit was kind of heart warming, but the beating up part for nice clothes A bit less. Was it inspired by your last job ;)

Thanks for writing! Good to see you back!

Reviewer: Swoonerson Signed [Report This]
Date: July 26 2018 11:51 PM Title: Chapter 1

Hey, so I MADE an acount on this site JUST to leave a review to encourage you. This story is amazing. The characters are likeablle and compelling and I just cant get enough. I'm terrified to think such a good story could be left to die. Please keep writing. Reading each chapter felt like a gift. 



Author's Response: Iím flattered you made an account just to review my work! I am trying to write. This story isnít dead! I just have a whole, whole lot going on right now. Iím starting a new job, unpacking from a move, training a puppy... So much. So donít be terrified! Maybe soon Iíll get an update out. :)

Reviewer: Loralye Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: March 13 2018 11:08 PM Title: Chapter 22

I hope Tor will share her feelings with Eric, even if it isn’t a lot. Just small gestures that prove she does care, more than just as an owner. Awesome story though, hope you update soon

Author's Response: I am currently working on the next chapter! Iím a teacher, tho, so that slows everything down quite a bit until the end of May. But hopefully the next one will be up soon! Iím glad you enjoy my little project. ^.^

Reviewer: bobbyman910 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 25 2018 12:41 PM Title: Chapter 1

I am really enjoying this story and am just wondering if there will be any new chapters soon. Thanks and keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Fluffer Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18 2017 2:12 PM Title: Chapter 1

Everything is all good except for a couple spelling errors here and there, but for the most part is pretty damn good. It is also very nice to read one of my favorite stories continued. I like how you make the family distinction and discrimination markedly obvious even a blind person could see it. The major spelling error I noticed was "hearsay." While yes, it's how it is said it is heresay. Nice job still. Keep it up please.



Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I am so glad to see you are enjoying it. I am actively working on the story. I just have a very busy life. More to come soon!

Reviewer: mullac Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17 2017 12:08 PM Title: Chapter 22

YAAAAY! You're back! 

I enjoyed this chapter! It may be short, but you really made up for it with lots of character development! Though I'm very nervous for both Princeling and Tor's safety now - her brothers could easily gang up on her!

I gotta disagree with vgiv, I think that Princeling's character development is, after growing up in a castle all his life with everything he could have ever wanted, he's realising that he's just a teeny tiny little boy in a world bigger than his ego.

Really looking forward to the next chapter!



Author's Response: Yes! I'm back. For the next few weeks until I start teaching again. ;) I'm so pleased you liked the chapter! I know it was short so I'm happy you think the character development made up for it. I'll be working on chapter 23 today. I'm going to try and get the story moving forward again. Plot-wise anyway. So happy you enjoyed the story! It's always a win in my book.

Reviewer: tinykev49 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 15 2017 3:24 PM Title: Chapter 22

Good chapter, next one soon?



Author's Response: I'll be working on it today! Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Fluffer Signed [Report This]
Date: July 15 2017 11:09 AM Title: Chapter 1

Everything is all good except for a couple spelling errors here and there, but for the most part is pretty damn good. It is also very nice to read one of my favorite stories continued. I like how you make the family distinction and discrimination markedly obvious even a blind person could see it. The major spelling error I noticed was "hearsay." While yes, it's how it is said it is heresay. Nice job still. Keep it up please.

Reviewer: vgiv Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 14 2017 11:30 PM Title: Chapter 22

Gotta admit, and no offense intended, kinda short for the wait.

I don't think Jason comprehends that his sister has business sense he just lacks. It doesn't matter how she sealed the deal, what matters is that his stubborn, violent and immature personality insure that he won't be very successful. He's a small fry, he can't bully his way to the top like he thinks he can.

I also feel Eric is a kind of an anchor for Tor. He snags on everything, forcing her to move slower. Unlike Tor, Eric has not gone through a lot of character development. She's become far less antagonistic and slightly less bullish, at least towards him. Eric by comparison is still the spoiled and naive boy he was at the start of the trip.

This makes his fealty to Tor even more apparent. He is completley reliant on her for everything, food, protection, shelter, companionship, and knowledge. He hasn't a shred of independence or capability. Sooner or later, Eric will have to come to terms with his own powerlessness. And with Jason fully aware of him being a weakness he can exploit, it won't be pretty.

Tor's name... is Torani? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA



Author's Response:

I know it was short, but I wanted to get this out and get rolling/writing again. Plus, I have literally nothing to do for the next two weeks. Literally. Except vacuuming the house. I'm a teacher on summer break! I'll get more chapters out a little faster. Hopefully a couple each week. I am so delighted to see you sticking with me and my little diamond-in-the-rough of a story.

As for my characters, Jason is an overconfident ass. That is without a doubt. So I'm so glad he came across that way!

Yes, Eric is definitely Tor's anchor. He is slowly working a change on her without even realizing it. But yet he is still spoiled and naive. He has a ways to go to become a fully-functional adult.

Tor is Torani, much to her chagrin. She hates her name, which is why she goes by Tor. She thinks it sounds better. Truth be told, the day I came up with her name, I was bathing a dog at my first job (vet's office). I wiped my face on my shoulder, looked down and saw the name of the Torani coffee syrup brand on my shirt. And boom! There came Torani Keller. lol

Thanks again for your steadfast support and review!

You must login (register) to review.