You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Endergold Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16 2017 7:59 AM Title: Epilogue: A Different Kind of Attendant

I've read many of your stories before and this is easily the best one ever!!! I really like how you develop the relationship between the two characters and this story is actually very meaningful and contains some words of wisdom.

For example, one phrase that rings through my mind countless times is "All good things came to an end. like the toys u used to enjoy......" said by Alex. U have no idea how long i am thinking about this and life. This makes me feel extremely nostagic about my childhood and the memories i have. Now its just work and stress. 

Nevertheless, I enjoy this story very much and really hope there will be a sequel to this maybe at the end of the year for Emil and whether Alex is going to spare him or what. AWESOME story!!

Reviewer: LJin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 10 2016 4:30 PM Title: Epilogue: A Different Kind of Attendant

Decided to search for a new story to read and found this one today. I am so happy of my choice. Thank you so much for writing it.

 

At the end I was hoping that you would, maybe, skip the time to an year after to discover what would happen to Emil's feelings, which I doubt he would stop loving her and she loving him, probably even more than when they first started.

 

But then I remembered and realized that it really doesn't matter. The goal itself. Like many times I read the expression "Remember, it's not so much about the destination, as it is the journey..." Even if the destination is the end of the assigned year or the end of their journey together in life as lovers, since no one lives forever. No matter what, all the wonderful memories, and living the present are what matters.



Author's Response:

Couldn't have said it better myself. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the story. 

I do have plans for what would happen about a year out, though that's stuff to consider for a sequel haha

Reviewer: Carycomic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 10 2016 10:46 AM Title: Epilogue: A Different Kind of Attendant

EXCELLENT!

Thanks, again, for sharing this. :-)

Reviewer: versusterminus7 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 10 2016 10:00 AM Title: Epilogue: A Different Kind of Attendant

Ohhhh I luuuurve it. Really great interaction between the two- and a verrryyy different tone from when Emil started. It's cute to see Alex get flustered like that.

I have really enjoyed this story, Asterisk- you've written (and matured) two wonderful characters. I hope Emil and Alex can still go forward and grow together.

Thank you so much for sharing this story. Still one of my recent favorites in... Like, forever.

Author's Response:

Happy to hear it. I'm still baffled people are so into this but I certainly won't complain haha

Reviewer: Nostory Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10 2016 9:03 AM Title: Epilogue: A Different Kind of Attendant

Of all the stories you've written, this is my favourite. I loved the ending , the relationship between Emil and Alex is really lovely. I could see a sequel because the townspeople could realise the difference in the relations between the two and from there, one thing will lead to another.... 



Author's Response:

That's an interesting thought. Definitely one that could be looked into *hint hint*. Although that's a story for another time. I'm just happy you and so many others liked the story so much.

Reviewer: Nostory Signed [Report This]
Date: May 24 2016 7:49 PM Title: How it all Began

Its kind of beautiful, the ending. I definitely want to see that epilogue. 

Reviewer: Carycomic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 21 2016 9:18 AM Title: Journey's End

YES! My deduction in the previous review was right. And, it's quite plausible that Alexandra wouldn't initially want to believe his pronouncements of love. "Once bitten/twice shy," and all that jazz. A saying that was probably coined by someone who had become doubly afraid of dogs after getting nipped by a supposedly gentle one applies just as much to emotional relationships. Maybe even more so! But, somehow, I have a feeling that Emil will prove himself the exception to Alexandra's general rule.*

In any case, thanks for granting us the privilege of reading this.

*Although, of course, the only way to verify that would be with a sequel. ;-)

Reviewer: MostKnownUnknowns Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 21 2016 3:35 AM Title: Journey's End

Impressive. Was worried after the last chapter. Was not grandiose but it works very well. Can't wait for the next one.

Reviewer: Pixis Signed [Report This]
Date: May 20 2016 11:52 PM Title: Journey's End

I'm sorry if my review caused you any stress or discouraged you. You're a talented writer. I think this just wasn't my kind of story. My issues with Alexandra as a character made it hard for me to sympathize with her or with Emil's feelings for her. But that's probably just me bringing my own baggage to this.



Author's Response:

You have no need to apologize man. Everyone doesn't have to enjoy or even agree with a story. Personally I found it interesting more than anything

Reviewer: Kaminayh Signed [Report This]
Date: May 20 2016 4:57 PM Title: How it all Began

Can I be honest with you....I really want more of this story...It is awesome :D!!!

Reviewer: BlueDream Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 20 2016 4:46 PM Title: How it all Began

What a ride. 10/10.

 

Reviewer: versusterminus7 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 20 2016 12:26 PM Title: How it all Began

Not gonna lie, I was really nervous this entire week. Your Friday updates have been very exciting for me and something of a treat, and, for the love of God dont let this go to your head, I've been looking forward to this more than Sunday's Game of Thrones or Preacher premier. For perspective, I love GoT the way Jamie loves ceresi.

All that aside, I feel like you've written a great end to this. It's wondrously satisfying to see Alexandra let down her walls- which, in your defense, she had rights to put up, although I am dubious that her walls were caused by hatred from humans directed towards her, and not her alienating people and then them hating- if that made any sort of sense. You touch a tender spot, especially with Emils admission of his love (maybe if just him right now), one that I hope, according to my own preference, is eventually reciprocated by Alex (once she takes him out of her boot, that is). As far as the tone, it's a hopeful one- I don't feel like it's sour or unsatisfactory- in fact, it feel wry hopeful, which I think is what you were trying to convey. I almost feel like Alex is hopeful as well, jaded as she is. The ending, in my opinion, could not have been more sweet and lovely, and it had fit the tale perfectly.

Overall, I feel like you have done extremely well, and this has been my favorite gentle (if not gts in general) story in years. I hope our (Pixis and I) stronger reactions haven't discouraged you in any way- you are a massively talented writer and I hope you continue to post on the community. I cannot wait to see more from you, I truly mean that.

10/10, would get frustrated all over again

Author's Response:

I have to say, I'm genuinely honored you have said that. I'm way too far behind on GoT (I was like 80% through Book 5 before I stopped) but I think I get the comparison. That's pretty wild.

I never expected people to genuinely get invested in this. It started off as one idea that spiralled off into one stupidly lengthy story, one that I tend to nitpick to death at that. Usually I try to avoid long stories because I tend to lose interest, but damn if I didn't stick around for this one. Still, I do have ideas for future stories that might be interesting if I ever actually get around to them, including a possible sequel to this one. Not sure if I'll ever actually do them since 9/10 I prefer shorter one offs, but still. 

Also, since you like this story so much you might be interested to know I plan on posting it to DA sometime in the future, with pictures. The pic part is what's been holding me up til now haha.

Reviewer: versusterminus7 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 13 2016 10:10 PM Title: How it all Began

Asterisk: 

"Though that's kind of the point of the story. To provide both characters with a chance to change."

So there's hope, then? Well that's exciting. Reading Alex's constant resistance to betterment was kind of like seeing Walt in Breaking Bad- just the same mistake over and over, and frustrating to watch. I suppose that was what my wall of nonsense was trying to get at.

Anyhow, if there's hope for Alex to change (i really do want to like her!), then I look forward to the next chapters. Heck, even if there isn't, I'm looking forward to the next. 

Reviewer: Pixis Signed [Report This]
Date: May 13 2016 6:26 PM Title: Revelations

I also have beef with this chapter. Alexandra's an unlikeable character to me, though I guess I understand her motivation now. Quit while she's ahead rather than let the resentment build in her companion or watch him grow old and wither long before her. But if those are the only outcomes, couldn't she just release him from her service? Or would seeing him around the village be too painful for her? Killing her attendants to spare her own feelings seems so selfish.

And what about the other villagers? I'm sure many accept this as a sacrifice to keep the giantess happy and the town safe. But wouldn't the families of the attendants look at Alex with the same hatred and resentment that she can't stand to face? Wouldn't she know, deep down, that none of them actually like her? They tolerate her as a necessary evil or secretly resent her but are too scared to reveal it. Her whole life among the humans is built on a lie.

I get that human lives pass like fruit flies to an immortal. But she's kind of missing the point. Human life isn't meaningless because it's short. If anything, that makes the time that we're here more meaningful because it's all we have.

Apologies for the negative review. Usually, I skip stories with cruel giantesses because they're not really my thing. But I feel like you want us to undertsand where Alex is coming from in this story and I really just don't. That said, you're a good writer and the story is well written. The medieval fantasy setting is great and the plot is clearly thought-provoking if it has sparked this kind of discussion.

Long story short (too late, I know!), if I was Alex's attendant she would have killed me in the first week. I clearly have issues with this lady. :p



Author's Response:

Haha. Now that's totally fair.

Also, Alex is a self-admitted selfish woman. I didn't convey it well, but the implication I always imagined was that she has tried countless things over the years and they invariably failed. Early on there was some text about how ostracized Attendants are, and how those feelings affect the Attendants themselves was brought up in this chapter. I'm not gonna go out of my way defending her since she is definitely still in the wrong here. Though that's kind of the point of the story. To provide both characters with a chance to change. Least I think so.

Or maybe I'm crazy cause I spent so damn long writing this story and not thinking hard on it haha. Feel free to think whatever you want. Chats like these are fun. 

Reviewer: Carycomic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 13 2016 3:38 PM Title: Revelations

So, Emil had a crush on Alex, back when he was a pre-schooler, huh? Which would explain why he doesn't remember. Most adults can't recall that far back, at all!

Reviewer: The Shrunken Scholar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 13 2016 1:45 PM Title: Revelations

I'm really starting to wonder how this will end. Happily ever after or just like all the other Attendants? Looking forward to finding out.

Reviewer: greaterthan3 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 13 2016 11:05 AM Title: Revelations

Really enjoying the story... Though I'm still confused as to why she has to kill her attendants.

Reviewer: versusterminus7 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 13 2016 10:25 AM Title: Revelations

Eeeeeeh. This is the first chapter I've had beef with so far, but I realize that it comes down to my own preference, so take it a grain of salt.

There's a lot of good in this chapter- lots of juicy exposition, a couple of good 'revelations,' if you can call them that (holy Jesus Emil held a special place in her heart, alert the no shit Sherlock squad), and again, top notch writing.

But. To me, Alex is becoming... Grating. Childish, even unlikable. I feel like there's a big push for her to change and then when presented with the opportunity, she just kind of squanders it. Granted, I get that there's a disparity and possible sadness in being friends/lovers with someone who will die much quicker than you will, but Alex's attitude still seems flippant, and I'd argue even OVERLY hedonistic. I get the drive for excitement, sure, but I'd say it's the opposite- humans because life is so fleeting might enjoy the fast pace life of 'fuck fight fly and die' that giants do according to the description you put out. To me, ageless (relatively) beings like Giants would find wisdom in age, etc. to me, my beef is that Alex seems an unbelievable character at times. I love her character, yes, and she does the job of being intriguing, but she does it to the point of almost beating a dead horse.

Two silly ones:
1. Why must you tempt me with your potential lesbianism???? I swear if Emilia is redheaded I will lose my shit.

2. Where is Alex keeping all those oxen?

3. 'Wait you're not tired?' 'Boy you're talkative!' '*rolls her eyes*'
Jesus. Alex was THAT girl in high school, huh.

Let me close this uncharacteristically negative wave by saying that I still love this story- it's heads and shoulders above 90% of what's on this sight for me, both in terms of fetish content and writing. No joke, it's like reading Pixis' Rowena for the first time again- just good, damn good stuff. You still get tenouttaten.

Looking forward to the final chapter and hopefully the epilogue. Also looking forward to your future stuff.

Author's Response:

Wow, thank you for the feedback on this one. Lessee how I can respond...

You definitely raise a good series of points with Alex. Though I think it's important to note that while she is hundreds of years old and definitely wise. She is still flawed however, and those flaws are what lead her to do anything she does. It might be best to think of her as someone who is overly sensitive, and instead of being hurt she plays it off and tries to cut ties before she gets too invested. Least that's what I think. Stories are all about interpretation.

 

Also for your silly question. She hunts all the Oxen haha. Just goes on a march and comes back with a tree skewer.

Reviewer: Carycomic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 07 2016 8:53 PM Title: Intimacy

Definitely a...climactic chapter.

;-D

Reviewer: Nostory Signed [Report This]
Date: May 07 2016 6:12 PM Title: How it all Began

I would not be surprised if at the end of the story Alex reveals to Emil all the past Attendants actually live with her for the rest of their lives under her protection and in comfort.

You must login (register) to review.