Reviews For To Defy Gods
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: readyf Signed [Report This]
Date: August 17 2018 10:17 PM Title: Chapter 24

I made an acount here so I could say thank you. Exelent story!

Reviewer: gtstory Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 17 2018 1:49 PM Title: Chapter 24

Olympus and Defy Gods...

Olympus: I don't want to turn this into a thread for another story, but if you're looking for Olympus, the Internet Archive still has most of the chapters, it just takes a little searching. All in all, there was a Prologue + 13 chapters, and I found all but the last 3 chapters hidden on the Internet Archive (of course the story never finished, the last chapter ended in a cliffhanger). I put them up online, and the link should remain valid for 1 year.

Look here for the links for Olympus (Prologue + Chapters 1-10, as well as a summary of Ch 11-13):
http://www.giantessworld.net/reviews.php?type=ST&item=4313

Olympus was one of the few other stories I liked as well (though not as much as Defy Gods -- DG turned out to be one of my favorite stories of all time. I've printed it out, and will definitely be keeping it forever!)

Darien, I replied to your email (just in case you weren't checking it anymore).

And lastly, now that DG is over, I think I'm going to celebrate by going back to the very beginning and reading it all the way through from beginning to end. Nice way to end the summer! (And hope Darien is enjoying a little well-deserved time off from writing!)



Author's Response:

Thanks for the link gtstory, and I read your reply. Thank you for all of that. Of course I'll be taking some time to rest, regroup, and organize new ideas. Once I've got something I can run with, I'll be back. I hope to hear from you then. Take care my friend

Reviewer: Sir Purple Wolf Signed [Report This]
Date: August 17 2018 4:54 AM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you gtstory, i did get your mail and wish to thank you for your finding :)

In any case Darien, i hope you get some rest for now and hope see some more writing in the future when the time is right :D



Author's Response:

You got it, bro. I plan on taking some time to let new ideas cultivate. Soon as I got something fleshed out that I can really go somewhere with, I'll be back on the site typing. I'll see you then

Reviewer: Sir Purple Wolf Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16 2018 9:30 AM Title: Chapter 24

Oh i didn't notice it got deleted, what a shame. Guess it is now lost forever :(

Reviewer: Sir Purple Wolf Signed [Report This]
Date: August 15 2018 9:26 PM Title: Chapter 24

I really think there is nothing more for me to say that hasn't been said so far.

This is without dout the best story this site has to ofer, and one reason for this is becose it came to an end that close it well. So many stories just get off trail and jusy stay there never to be complete.

I more than appreciate you spend your time on this project even when it wasn't easy and didn't let it die unfinished. It was a real pleasure reading your work.

 

p.s. if by any chance you feel like doing so more writing in here it will be awesome if you can continue (or reboot) a story called Olympus on this site. It got unfinished and i always thought it has a great potencial.



Author's Response:

Thank you Sir Purple Wolf for sticking with this story and enjoying it  so much. I don't think this story is one of the best on this site, by a mile. But to hear someone else think so makes my freaking day. 

Hmmmmm, that's an interesting request. I just searched up Olympus and it seems to have been deleted. Any idea where I can get a copy of the original story? Usually when I read a story I like, I enjoy coming up with my own scenarios and endings for it.

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: August 14 2018 6:36 AM Title: Chapter 1

Welcome, thanks for the good read ^^

Reviewer: gtstory Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 13 2018 11:17 PM Title: Chapter 24

And so, the story ends, with a very touching chapter that's a fitting close to this wonderful tale.

There's not a lot new to say that I haven't said already, but a few thoughts:
(I may email you later if I have more...)

Gaelin and Annallya were able to see past their differences and histories to be together, and discovered what is truly the most important thing in the world. And even though she's a Titan, the villagers that know Annallya were able to come to accept her as well. Annallya aside, Titans are still Titans (societies don't change on a dime), and there might never be an easy answer to the problem of humans being needed for reproduction... but if the Titans somehow manage not to cause their own demise, Gaelin and Annallya have managed to change the minds of many Titans they've encountered (Nefferel, Kollen, many others), planting in them the seeds for empathy and respect. As these Titans go back to their own lands, perhaps their experiences and changed outlooks may slowly spread to others. It's a start, at least. And should Gaelin and Annallya decide to one day have a daughter, I'm sure she would make her parents proud.

I agree completely with what foreignkanto wrote -- about how one part of me would very much like to one day be able to read more with these wonderful characters (it's your fault for taking the time to create such a full, complete story with them!)... yet if that never comes to pass, you ended the story nicely... and I'm perfectly happy using my imagination to consider what might happen with these characters in the future. Life is one continuous journey after all, and this is but one part of their story.

You should be very proud of this work. I know you had a lofty goal for yourself when starting out, and you far exceeded it.

Thank you so much for this wonderful story!



Author's Response:

I read your email, and kind of ended up typing everything I had to say in a reply to that. check it out, and thank you gtstory

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: August 13 2018 11:12 AM Title: Chapter 1

Very true. War doesn't determine who is right, only who is left. (I don't remember the author of the quote)



Author's Response:

how true that is. And thank you for reading and commenting so often on my story

Reviewer: Js23 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 13 2018 8:10 AM Title: Chapter 1

your stories are the best on this site, would you consider something like A New Perspective with more intimate interaction? I absolutely love your themes and writing style



Author's Response:

hahaha, thank you. I don't consider my stories to be the best on this site by a long shot. But I do think that this is my best one so far. But thank you so much for liking them, it honestly means the world to hear that from you guys. Maybe I'll write something like you've described. It all depends on what ideas come into my head

Reviewer: Carweirdo3 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 13 2018 7:15 AM Title: Chapter 24

NOOOO
Why does everything good has to come to an end.

Author's Response:

I actually said the same thing when I finished the story. But it felt like the right time to end things.

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: August 13 2018 7:11 AM Title: Chapter 1

Ok, guess I got the wrong impression.



Author's Response:

it's like the Whistler said at the end of his story. The people don't win by waging wars. They win by living.

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: August 13 2018 6:34 AM Title: Chapter 24

Wow, uh, the ending was kind of abrupt, no offense intended. There seems to be a lot of loose ends left un-tied, i.e. the future of the Titans, Annallya's mother is still out there, The Titans who invaded Thylara barely had any introduction or backstory fleshed out, it just seemed to happen so fast, and Andrill seems to have completely disapppeared from the story (I completely forgot he even existed, I had to go back to chapter 1 to remember his name). I mean I understand why Annallya loves Gaelin, but didn't Andrill love her too?

All in all it just seems very rushed, and certain plot points seemed to have been built up only to have lot of questions un-answered. 



Author's Response:

Allow me to tie those up:

-Annallya already speculated on the future of Titans as she watched her city burn. If you were wondering about whether or not they'd face a literal trial and judgment at the hands of humans, that was never the intended ending. Everyone picked up on one line and assumed that the story would end with all of the Titans standing trial before the humans. This isn't a story where the humans come out on top and Titans learn to accept them. This is a story about escape and survival. Frankly, the humans are lucky enough to be alive at the moment. There's no way they're heading back there to try their hand at revenge.

-the fight between Annallya and her mother was meant to be a form of closure. She wasn't needed for anything else. Without a city to provide humans for, there's no more point in having her as an antagonist.

-no they didn't have much backstory but they had build up going all the way back to chapter 13 and continuing from there. They're more of a plot device, so there was only so much needed to make them relevant in the story.

-no Andrill never loved Annallya. He cared about her because she became his friend in a Titan environment. They never had any interaction that built up any romantic feelings between the two. Plus he was kept away from her through most of the story.

Reviewer: smoki1020 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 13 2018 5:28 AM Title: Chapter 1

a great ending to a great story.



Author's Response:

thank you for being a great commenter on this story smoki1020

Reviewer: HABERZphantom Signed [Report This]
Date: August 12 2018 10:53 PM Title: Chapter 1

great to see a definitive conclusion to this story, it feels like you have really comeinto your own as an author with this story



Author's Response:

I like to think so as well. Thank you for reading and saying so much about my story these past months HABERZphantom

Reviewer: geeman Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 12 2018 9:21 PM Title: Chapter 24

Amazing! Didnt feel rushed, didnt feel overly fake, but was still a spectacle, had its fair share of cheese and love. Definitely my favorite gts story in a long while, maybe ever! Im hoping if not a sequel, we get another story set in this universe sometime!



Author's Response:

I can't make any promises for a sequel or spin off, but I like the idea. Till I decide for myself, thank you for going through this with me geeman

Reviewer: foreignkanto Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 12 2018 7:23 PM Title: Chapter 24

Nooo...

Well, I knew it had to end eventually. It's just so sad to see it go. This was always the story I've been anticipating every time I open up Giantess World this entire summer, eagerly awaiting updates. But hey, don't be sad because it's over, be happy because it happened, right?

I'm glad how this chapter turned out. We got a lot of closure, and it ended up how I hoped. Annallya is going with the village, at least for now. And Gaelin and Annallya have decided to be together forever. Loved how Annallya grew to her full height when asking if Gaelin and the village could accept her.

There's so much left to think about in this story, about how their lives together will be and where things go from here. And while I'd certainly love it if you ever did something like a oneshot prologue or a short story about some point in the future, I'll accept that it may be best to leave some of that to the imagination of each reader, and the endless possible futures that exist therein.

So I guess I'll just say thank you again for the story, I loved it from the bottom of my heart. Oh, and I just binged A New Perspective this weekend as well. While it isn't as polished as this one, it's still a pretty great story, and still one of the best on this site, if I'm honest. I'll be looking forward to your next story, if there is one!



Author's Response:

I know. I was tying up the last chapter, so eager to finally conclude the story, that by the time I finished, I had to stop and contemplate how far I've come. I spent so much time on each chapter, the entire story taking up more than a year of my life, and now it's finished. A story that's felt more like a real book than anything I've written before. It's like saying good bye to a friend. It's like saying good bye to you guys as well. 

Anyway, I'm glad you liked the ending. I tried to have a heartfelt goodbye to close on, a gift to you guys from me. I can't tell you how glad I am that you've loved this. And thanks for the side comment about A New Perspective. Before this story, I thought that one would be my best. I guess it goes to show, you can always get better. I hope to keep getting better with whatever story comes next. Till then, thank you foreignkanto

Reviewer: gtstory Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 12 2018 5:42 PM Title: Chapter 23

Wow, what a chapter! I wish it was easier to get online and type right now, but I'm still in the early stages of recovery, so my reviews will likely be late. But make no mistake, this story is a real highlight, and every passing chapter just gets better and better.

We have Gaelin, after refusing to kill innocents, forced to kill soldiers in order to protect the ones he cares about in an amazing fight. The irony of Thylara under siege by an enemy that they were trying to use for their own gains. An impossible escape from the palace and city itself. Lyal and Tull helping out. Nefferel coming back (yay! I loved that scene, how she hugged Gaelin at the end, and the reactions to it!) Annallya realizing that any undoing of Titan civilization would be because of the Titans themselves. And Annallya finally facing her mother, in a scene that was especially well written. As much anger, animosity, and different world views as there are between the two of them, they're still mother and daughter, with neither willing to kill the other. Annallya has come into her own, and for better or worse, Oragale will have to accept it. Plus some incredibly bravery from everyone, including Annallya, who turned the tables on Gaelin by herself facing an invading army to give her friends a chance of escape.

Thank you! A great chapter, all the way around!



Author's Response:

Whatever you can say, I'll appreciate it. 

If I'm honest, this one was my favorite chapter. Both in terms of action and characters. Everything you listed was something I enjoyed writing about: pretty much the whole thing. And I'm glad that you also enjoyed every detail.

So you're welcome gtstory, and thank you for reading

Reviewer: tinykev49 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 11:13 AM Title: Chapter 23

very good!!!

Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 10 2018 1:10 PM Title: Chapter 23

Wow, I didn't think they would actually make it out of the burning city. Props to both Annalya (I somehow still have a hard time remembering that name for some reason) and Gaelin.

Annalya claims Titans are basically all about war, but the clash she had with her mother shows that titans actuall Do care about more than that. Gaelin clearly has the more superior combat moves and fighting skills, while Rhaolin still doesn't  want Anyalla to hang out with him because "pet." Rhaolin should at least recognzie this but decided to do the stupid thing again.

I'm curious to what their next move will be. Would they be able to do anything to fix the city? Will they go to Oalam? Or peacefully live in a human village?

As always, thanks for writing! I'm looking forward to the next chapter and I hope we will see it soon!

Reviewer: 280077s Signed [Report This]
Date: August 10 2018 12:56 PM Title: Chapter 1

I've noticed lately that a lot of the best story-telling, in books or even in song, has a lot to do with what the author/lyricist doesn't put in. I think thats yet another seemingly ongoing sign of your skill as a wordsmith. You sure you don't do this professionally? If you don't its fine, I'm just saying you could make real $ with your skills.

You must login (register) to review.