You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: October 11 2018 11:12 AM Title: BFG: Return To Angleland

Sorry, I forgot to even read this story last week because I was so busy. An even now I don't have much to say!

Maxine barely made it out alive. Maybe she does need that strength potion, or use an entire castle as armor.

But she made it out alive, which is a huge feat. I hope she isn't permanently damaged by this. A pity Charles couldn't help more and also I hope he survives her family.

Will this be the end of this story? Will there be a fun chapter?

Also, thanks for writing!



Author's Response:

Yeah, Maxine is one tough cookie. Looks like all those years of ploughing in the fields really paid off. Charles better be ready for her family, it will be something that he will never forgot.

Reviewer: Slacker28 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 03 2018 5:53 AM Title: BFG: Return To Angleland

Looks like an interesting story, please let me know if you ever consider laking up Matt and Alba again.



Author's Response:

It seems that the series is going well so far.

 

Yeah, I'll bring it back eventually.

Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 29 2018 2:44 PM Title: BFG: Return To Angleland

Pity to see killings and kidnappings in this story. But that's also partly the majors fault. He should have hired Sammy to do the job, because bigger is better. But on the other hand, Sammy would require the major to buy a lot more beer.

I hope leaving Charles behind doesn't mean that he has to be in harms way, but that he can finally be a great help. I don't think a tired Maxine can single handedly beat that bandit camp to a pulp.

Also, thank you for writing!



Author's Response:

Probably more than he could have afforded

 

Well maybe he can impress her and she does have Gregory with her

Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 23 2018 3:11 PM Title: BFG: Return To Angleland

Finally Maxine gets some simple comforts. I'm really glad you didn't portray Maxine as miserable but have her at least this. It was also a fun little adventure to read.

It's a pity she can't get the bandits to come.out using a barrel of beer. Then she wouldn't have so much work to do.

Also, thanks for writing!



Author's Response:

Well she can be miserable sometimes, but that would probably not work out.

 

But she wouldn't want to give up a barrel of beer.

 

You're welcome.

Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 14 2018 1:06 PM Title: BFG: Return To Angleland

I'm late. I was so lazy and postponing my review that there is an entire new chapter.

And in response to you previous review, I must say that I completely trust you!

That little girl owns that entire city basically, and they couldn't even beat her without the help of Maxine. How lazy is that town? It almost looks like some kind of joke. They continuously don't take Maxine seriously because she's a girl and at the same time cannot even handle that little girl, let a lone an angry Maxine.

I wonder why she doesn't exploit this conservative medievel-like world more. She could easily get more free Ale if she just enters a drinking competition and beats everyone by drinking more than the rest combined. That would be something!

Also, I really think she could use that strength potion, then she can run a bit faster with her heavy armour.

Also, thanks for writing, and hopefully see you next wednesday!



Author's Response:

Thanks for the vote of confidence.

Well she could be quite secretive and maybe these were just lower end thugs that she was using rather than genuine threats. 

 

There probably aren't too many such competitions but if she found any she would enter them. Especially pie eating contests, a stronger Maxine is a very scary Maxine.

Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 30 2018 1:48 PM Title: BFG: Return To Angleland

Angleland, what a ghetto. You can't even trust the little girls there. At least somebody proposed to simply move away from this hellhole. But at least they have Maxine to protect them now.

If only Maxine was a little bigger, she could keep up with the bandits and could gather some more respect because the horses would have trouble keeping up with her ;) yes, I'm at it again

 

On a more serious note, this plot about the bandits is getting interrinter. I wonder what the role of the little girl is.

Also, thank you for writing!



Author's Response:

You can't really trust anyone, even me. Maxine does wish that she could grow much like her mother and sisters. 

 

You'll find out her role soon.

Reviewer: BoozedUp Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 23 2018 8:09 PM Title: BFG: Return To Angleland

Finally something thats above 8th grade reading level, isn't shrink or too short. I just wanted to say I quite enjoy this one, although I skimmed through the original which I do not enjoy as much (magic spontaneous willed growth is not my thing).

One question though, are the tags final? As in, will something new pop up later? Will there be growth of the heroine? Considering the canon of the story, and small (maybe unintentional) allude to it in one chapter it seems like there should be. In any case, cheers!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading.

 

No the tags aren't final. It's just what's seen in the story so far. Others will be added where need be

Reviewer: meereten01 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 16 2018 3:44 PM Title: BFG: Return To Angleland

Maybe Chrissie should hug some sense into Laurence. Seems like he isn't really a nice person. Oh, talking about hugging monsters, have you seen "Princess slayer" by Jacksmith? That princess reminds me of Chrissie, but then really monster sized.

Well, at least the Inn lady was nice enough to bake her a free Pie, a bit of a pity  that our friendly accountant didn't get to taste it. Well, at least I hope he can get some money together for some more beer ale.

Thank you for writing! Until next wednesday!



Author's Response:

No I haven't seen it, I might check it out.


Most likely it would be a discounted price since Maxine provided the meat. Charles can get the money but there isn't all that much of it

Reviewer: imagin8 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 25 2018 8:34 PM Title: BFG: Return To Angleland

I'm gonna give my most enthusiastic and heartfelt encouragement towards a continuation of this one-shot. I was a massive fan of the original BFG: Angleland, in no small part due to the fantastic bond between the towering Jessica and the courageous Tucker, and their various trials and tribulations. Not only is this pilot an intriguing development many years down the line, but it involves a protagonist who can very definitely shed some light on what happened between J&T ( by virtue of existing, most notably), and could easily stand on its own as a different kind of narrative set in a world that's already established, well-rounded and full of life.

If we're going down a completely selfish route btw; any story that showcases a 9-foot tall, intimidating red-haired girl who seems quite stern, but hints at being secretly quite fair and nice, has my whole-hearted seal of approval on multiple levels, especially when said girl is paired with a relatively small male companion who is both wary of, and beguiled by her. It's a recipe that I think is set up extremely well for your particular brand of adventure, companionship and fairytale drama, and I really hope you plan to write more - there's a decent chance it could become my favourite story of yours by some margin... no pressure though!



Author's Response:

Hopefully it'll live up to your expectations when I get around to writing the rest of it.

Reviewer: lancealot501 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 19 2018 4:42 PM Title: BFG: Return To Angleland

Really like the start up chapter to this story. We seem to have some interesting characters to read about. Are we going to be seeing the return of old characters like the demigodess, nicole, the queen, etc?

Author's Response:

Some old characters will pop up but obviously they will be older. I'm glad that you liked the pilot

Reviewer: Loralye Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 19 2017 10:47 PM Title: Big Friendly Giantess

I've always loved this story, I can read it again and again. It never gets old! I've read all your stories but this one will always be my favorite. There was a time when a little red bird was by the title, did you know what that meant??

Author's Response:

Sorry I have no idea what the bird is.

Reviewer: Daldrin Signed [Report This]
Date: February 01 2017 12:22 AM Title: BFG Angleland

Was a great read and enjoyed it very much and am looking forward to more of your work! Jessica and Tucker make a great pair.



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you liked it.

Reviewer: Daldrin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: January 28 2017 2:43 AM Title: Big Friendly Giantess

Just came across this story and I must say I enjoyed the whole thing! It was an excellent read that had me glued to the screen the whole time. There were only a handful of issues that I came across where a few things were repeated a bit often but that might just be the side effect of reading it all in one go. 10/10 thanks for the great read.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much and I'm glad that you enjoyed it. Check out some of the other BFG stories.

Reviewer: iHategiants666 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 17 2017 8:44 AM Title: Big Friendly Giantess: Jenny's Big Trip

I don't why I'm replying now all of a sudden, but I feel I have to, just to get it off my chest.

 

Tucker's fight with Ronan was so unbelievably farfetched, it drove me crazy. I know you were trying to make him look cool, but there's no way he should have won the way he did. 

 

For starters, the instant Ronan had Tucker in a bearhug, he was/should have been done for. If the man was strong enough to lift him off his feet and hold him in place, no amount of headbutting would make him release his grip. Certainly not enough in the window of time Tucker had before he asphyxiated. 

Ten headbutts might seem painful, especially if right to the nose, but believe me it doesn't work. I know, because I tried to escape a bearhug myself like that. And it hurt me almost as much as it hurt my aggressor. Why? Because his skull was just as tough as mine. If you crash them together like that, you are cracking bone on bone. BTW, He did not let go, not because of my headbutt anyway. 

Secondly, every headbutt would be weaker than the previous one. Why? Because every moment, he's still in the guy's grip. By exerting himself, he's actually losing even more oxygen than he was just by being held. Also the effectiveness of his attack is reduced by the fact that he doesn't have the ground to support him. A headbutt is made all the more powerful by throwing one's body weight. Tucker, being held up in the air, is only using his neck muscles. If you watch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1D-KijfBtZE, you'll notice the victim is using the guy's arm as a lever so that gives him more power. Also, keep in mind, this guy is not nearly as strong as Ronan and was only stopped by bullet to the head. Okay... That's going a bit off the point, but what I'm saying is, Tucker would have blacked out by the time he got five headbutts in.  

Furthermore, if Ronan had any sense, he could have simply adjusted his hold and wrapped both hands (or just one) around Tucker's neck or he could have lifted him over his head (Bane-style) slammed him into the ground. He might not be smart, but he is a warrior and should know the fundamentals of dealing with opponents of varying sizes. Also, Tucker can't possibly be the first one to try this shit. 

And let's assume he got out. Tucker would not have the strength to stand up, let alone kick his opponent with enough force to disorient him. Ronan, in your words, was only angered by the damage done to his nose and should have simply punched Tucker right then and there instead of tackling him. But even tackling him would have rendered a man like Tucker unconsious or would have at least winded him beyond the point of recovery.

Somehow, not only is he still able to attack Ronan's leg, he also finds it in him to dodge every punch and keep on kicking. It's just ridiculous at this point. Even more so, when Ronan could have just backed up, or grabbed Tucker's leg. When you do the same attack more than once, even a moron is going to figure it out.

Also, if Tucker really had the strength to break Ronan's jaw (and the is not easy), he still would have most likely broken his own foot in the process. And the fact that Tucker is still able to keep moving after that. He's already exhausted his third wind at this point, and should not even be breathing. 

Yes I know this is a fantasy story, but the way you wrote it gave me the WRONG impression. Overuse of the word "seem", "seemed" "seemingly" --I counted eleven before the fight ended--kept me thinking WTF? How is he even alive? That's such BS! I should be cheering for T but from everything I'd seen from him earlier, there was nothing to suggest let alone prove that he was capable of such a superhuman feat. And Doc, no lie, no ordinary human could have done this.

Tucker could have won with more reasonable methods, such as biting, elbowing, crotchkicking, throat punching, hell, after getting free, however crazy that was, he could have done the exact same thing to his opponent. Giving Ronan a chokehold would be doubly advantageous, because he can use his strength AND his weight to deal with him, just like Westley (Cary Elwes) did to Fezzik (Andre the Giant) in The Princess Bride. And yes, I know that he got slammed into rocks while he did that, but that did visibly hurt. Also, there were no rocks for Ronan to use as such, which means Tucker would only to had to worry about Ronan falling down. I know you want Tucker to be NOBLE and HONOUR, but this was a battle of survival and there is a difference between honour and stupidity

In conclusion, I say: be a little more creative with your fight scenes. This wasn't the only one I had problems with. The fight with Tucker and Tyrone was nonsense. If Ty wasn't trained to fight with his fists, he'd never be foolish enough to challenge a man who is clearly more muscular  (or was he not?) and who would obviously have to have some knowledge. And the fight against the Jessica double was resolved without much difficulty as was the fight with Tucker and Jessica: I take issues with spells being broken by "Speeches of Love". Why couldn't he have at least used that as means to get close enough to destroy the locket?

 

 

 

Sorry, this went on too long. I just thought you should do this in the future.

 

 

No hate intended. Still a good story overall.

 

FYI, I posted this onto this story because I didn't think you'd be looking at reviews of stories that finished. I only re-read the story all the way last night.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for your comment, I'll take what you said into consideration

Reviewer: iHategiants666 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 16 2017 3:55 PM Title: BFG Angleland

I don't why I'm replying now all of a sudden, but I feel I have to, just to get it off my chest.

Tucker's fight with Ronan was so unbelievably farfetched, it drove me crazy. I know you were trying to mkae him look cool, but there's no way he should have won the way he did. 

 

For starters, the instant Ronan had Tucker in a bearhug, he was/should have been done for. If the man was strong enough to lift him off his feet and hold him in place, no amount of headbutting would make him release his grip. Certainly not enough in the window of time Tucker had before he asphyxiated. 

Ten headbutts might seem painful, especially if right to the nose, but believe me it doesn't work. I know, because I tried to escape a bearhug myself like that. And it hurt me almost as much as it hurt my aggressor. Why? Because his skull was just as tough as mine. If you crash them together like that, you are cracking bone on bone. BTW, He did not let go, not because of my headbutt anyway. 

 

Secondly, every headbutt would be weaker than the previous one. Why? Because every moment, he's still in the guy's grip. By exerting himself, he's actually losing even more oxygen than he was just by being held. Also the effectiveness of his attack is reduced by the fact that he doesn't have the ground to support him. A headbutt is made all the more powerful by throwing one's body weight. Tucker, being held up, is only using his neck muscles. If you watch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1D-KijfBtZE, you'll notice the victim is using the guy's arm as a lever so that gives him more power. Also, keep in mind, this guy is not nearly as strong as Ronan and was only stopped by bullet to the head. Okay... That's going a bit off the point, but what I'm saying is, Tucker would have blacked out by the time he got five headbutts in. 

 

Furthermore, if Ronan had any sense, he could have simply adjusted his hold and wrapped both hands (or just one) around Tucker's neck. He might not be smart, but he is a warrior and should know the fundamentals of dealing with opponents of varying sizes. Also, Tucker can't possibly be the first one to try this shit. 

 

And let's assume he got out. Tucker would not have the strength to stand up, let alone kick his opponent with enough force to disorient him. Ronan, in your words, was only angered by the damage done to his nose and should have simply punched Tucker right then and there instead of tackling him. But even that would have rendered a man like Tucker unconsious or would have at least winded him beyond the point of recovery.

Somehow, not only is he still able to attack Ronan's leg, he also finds it in him to dodge every punch and keep on kicking. It's just ridiculous at this point. Even more so, when Ronan could have just backed up, or grabbed Tucker's leg. When you do the same attack more than once, even a moron is going to figure it out.

 

Also, if Tucker really had the strength to break Ronan's jaw (and the is not easy), he still would have most likely broken his own foot in the process. And the fact that Tucker is still able to keep moving after that. He's already exhausted his third wind at this point, and should not even be breathing. 

 

Yes I know this is a fantasy story, but the way you wrote it gave me teh WRONG impression. Overuse of the word "seem", "seemed" "seemingly" --I counted eleven before the fight ended--kept me thinking WTF? How is he even alive? That's such BS! I should be cheering for T but from everything I'd seen from him earlier, there was nothing to suggest let alone prove that he was capable of such a superhuman feat. And Doc, no lie, no ordinary human could have done this.

 

Tucker could have won with more reaonable methods, such as biting, elbowing, crotchkicking, throat punching, hell, after getting free, however crazy that was, he could have done the exact same thing to his oppoent. Giving Ronan a chokehold would be doubly avantageous, because he can use his strength AND his weight to deal with him, just like Westley (Cary Elwes) did to Fezzik (Andre the Giant) in The Princess Bride. And yes, I know that he got slammed into rocks while he did that, but that did visibly hurt. Also, there were no rocks for Ronan to use as such, which means Tucker would only to had to worry about Ronan falling down. I know you want Tucker to be NOBLE and HONOUR, but this was a battle of survival and there is a difference between honour and stupidity

 

In conclusion, I say: be a little more creative with your fight scenes. This wasn't the only one I had problems with. The fight with Tucker and Tyrone was nonsense. If Ty wasn't trained to fight with his fists, he'd never be follish enough to challenge a man who is clearly more msucular  (or was he not?) and who would obviously have to have some knowledge. And the fight against the Jessica double was resolved without much difficulty as was the fight with Tucker and Jessica: I take issues with spells being broken by "Speeches of Love". Why couldn't he have at least used that as means to get close enough to destroy the locket?

 

Sorry, this went on too long. I just thought you should do this in the future.

 

No hate intended. Still a good story overall.

Reviewer: Nostory Signed [Report This]
Date: January 12 2017 5:17 AM Title: Big Friendly Giantess: Jenny's Big Trip

Really curious to see how Jenny's friends up in the real world get her back. 



Author's Response:

Just wait and see.

Reviewer: Js23 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28 2016 7:49 AM Title: Big Friendly Giantess: Jenny's Big Trip

interesting...

really wish Angleland had a sequel

 

Reviewer: Js23 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28 2016 7:49 AM Title: Big Friendly Giantess: Jenny's Big Trip

interesting...

really wish Angleland had a sequel

 



Author's Response:

It might do one day

Reviewer: Nostory Signed [Report This]
Date: December 14 2016 7:15 AM Title: Big Friendly Giantess: Jenny's Big Trip

Curiouser and curiouser.....



Author's Response:

A bit of Alice In Wonderland there eh?

Reviewer: Pixis Signed [Report This]
Date: November 25 2016 1:39 AM Title: Big Friendly Giantess: Jenny's Big Trip

I keep meaning to read the BFG stories but just haven't had a chance to sit down and go through them all. This one has definitely caught my attention though with its tiny protagonist. I love the idea of a 3" woman and a 150 foot giantess being friends.



Author's Response:

You should read them, it is a good series and I'm not just saying that because I wrote it. When it comes to friendship, size is not a barrier.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.